Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Saturday, Jul. 10, 2004

It's been a few days now so I almost don't want to mention it, but I feel I should.

On Tuesday night, someone threw a rock through the front door of the Quiet Storm and ran off with the cash register.

I came in Wednesday morning to a sidewalk littered with broken glass, a couple of helpful runners who had happened by, and the woman who lives upstairs and sometimes works at the Storm on the phone to the police.

It felt very much like being kicked in the stomach. Some of our regulars(a painting crew who come in every morning for pre-painting coffee) helped us to sweep up the glass. We got things underway as best we could, and Ian arrived as soon as he could, and we just sort of wandered around in a daze. It took the cops OVER AN HOUR to respond to our call. In fact, it took three calls. It was not so much a busy crime morning in Garfield as it was the fact that the police department is understaffed thanks to the city's budget crisis. Which is, as we all know, thanks to the city's stadiums and soon to be vacant downtown department stores. That made me angry.

It also made me angry that someone broke in, but I quickly counted the blessings: 1)they did NOT smash any of the large windows in the front, which would have been more of a mess and harder to replace; 2)they only took the cash register with less than $20 of change, and did not even touch the CD collection or soundboard or stereo or computer; 3)we kinda wanted a new cash register anyway, and now we had to get one. Later I learned that the landlord's insurance paid for the door, so even that was not so bad.

Then I calmed down enough to realize that the barista who was scheduled did not show up, the cleaning guy who was scheduled did not clean, and the person who worked the regular shift before mine in the kitchen left me with no potatoes and no tofu, so I couldn't make the breakfast orders I got when I finally got into the kitchen. That REALLY sucked. It's hard to get too worked up over random crackhead violence---but when your own co-workers screw you over, that warrants getting worked up.

But I got through. And the new register is nice, and the new door is nice, and everyone in the community who came by was nice about it too. So I take the good with the bad.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com