Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Sunday, Jul. 25, 2004

Whooohooo!

Last night was the rockinest of rocking good times. A night out at the Goose with Herbie, automatically good times. Seeing all the ole runnin crew--great good times. Sierra Nevada Pale Ale on special, just like I remembered it. A VH1 documentary about makeup bands on the TV, meaning that every few seconds I would shriek with joy at seeing Paul Stanley's face. The OPD. Dang, they TORE THE PLACE UP! Incredible. You really have to have some huevos to cover "Won't Get Fooled Again", and you really have to have some talent to pull it off without a hitch.(well, the guitar player hurt his hand trying to windmill, and the singer didn't swing the mic, but otherwise, hitchless) I have had a crush on this band since they covered "world shut your mouth" at the new wave cabaret a few years back. Now I have an even bigger crush on them, and especially on their wild haired and Keith Moonish drummer. Hee hee.

Fangs of the Panda also rocked with much awesome power, perhaps a little too much. I want to be able to hear the vocals and the words and their wall of aggressive sound washed it all out(of course, maybe if I wasn't standing a foot and a half from the stage I would hear a better sound mix. I'll certainly never know, because if that boy is on stage I'm going to be up front. It's written in stone)

Of note: both drummers used cowbell. I love this country.

Also of note: after the rock I grabbed a seat at the bar next to another adorable drummer on whom I have had a crush for many years.(is there a drummer in pittsburgh on whom I have NOT had a crush? I wonder) The VH1 documentary was STILL on, and I asked him what he thought of KISS. He told me that he wasn't a big fan, but that he had always admired Paul Stanley's gorgeous chest hair. Amen to that, my brother.

And then there was a completely stupid bar fight, featuring a dude who is on his way to alienating every last person in town who once had any respect for him. Thankfully, he is leaving town soon. We don't cotton to your kind around here, mister.

Herbie and I split soon after and when I got home I put on my Elyria soundtrack mix tape and had a drunken cheese quesadilla(I was drunk, the quesadilla was merely cheesey) and then I went to sleep.

Whereupon I had a dream, most of which is gone now, but it included seeing a new KISS video where Paul sang the line "Boris Karloff wore long pants every day". I can say no more.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com