Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-09-20

a sleepy and happy good morning to you.

a night of fine loud rock and roll has done wonders for my soul, yet again. i was really needing it after the information i acquired yesterday quite by accident about the naming of AMERICA'S NEW WAR. i am so disgusted i want to cry, because being an english major i firmly believe that words have power and calling a military operation INFINITE JUSTICE sounds just a little too much like an Jean-Claude Van Damme film. Or even more, like a Charles Bronson film. basically, it does not smack of contemplation or open eyes or aware thinking. When I hear OPERATION INFINITE JUSTICE, words like "swift" and "terrible" follow along behind. couple this with the fact that our president recently had to retract his statement about a "crusade against terrorism" because he did not realize the terrible implications of the word in that particular area of the world, and you have a picture of what we english majors like to call "loose lips sink ships."

and that Rumferd guy. I read a quote from him in which he actually used the phrase "and stuff" to describe a military proceedure. As in, we will attack from the ground and the sea and the air AND STUFF. I would like to make it perfectly clear to anyone that AND STUFF is not something you can say without sounding a little like a moron, especially when you are a high level military person making a statement to the press. AND STUFF is the kind of thing which would be said in perhaps BILL AND TED'S EXCELLENT ADVENTURE pt 3 when Bill suddenly finds himself having to make a speech from the Pentagon due to some warp in the space time continuum.

Argh.

I hope I have conveyed my concerns.

The rock was nice, the place was nice, the guy who makes the fantastic brandy alexanders was doing sound because he is also a fantastic sound guy, so i had brandy alexanders made by a guy who is not so good at it. But it was nice to have them nonetheless, and nice to sit at the bar with my favorite boy and watch FAMILY GUY and talk about all manner of things not related to AMERICA'S NEW WAR, because we needed a break. I did end up talking about AMERICA'S NEW WAR with a bunch of people last night---good friends of mine who are scared and young enough to fear conscription and yet old enough to fear nuclear annihilation. That is an akward age, let me tell you. I did a lot of intervention last night, trying to preach the message of open heart and open eyes. You know, I do not go around being a buddhist really, it just sort of flares up from time to time when i really need it. It is a nice comfort and one of the things which having some buddhist training allows me to do is help other people see the big picture. So I try to do that when I can.

saw some friends I had not seen in a while, and some people who i love to see every day. the human brains played a smokin set and the crowd went wild. The mud city manglers also played a smokin set but were as usual way too loud for my taste, so i sat at the bar and talked to people. there was a camel jade event going on and they had managed to get a girl who looks just like the camel jade girl on the posters to walk around in a spangly green dress passing out cigarettes to people. It was nice.

the sound guy went to great lengths to compliment the human brains about their set and they gloated and i gloated with them. it makes me happy to see them get props because they really are great and i am not just saying that. so it is nice to hear objective disinterested parties saying the same thing.

at the end of the night my favorite boy drove me home and we talked all the way about the events in our peculiarly aquarius manner. i can't really describe it but there is a certain airy quality to our conversations which neither of us seems to be able to get any where else. So we spend an awful lot of time talking to each other.

it is nice and easy and familiar and wonderful and dare i say even better since i spilled my guts. i love it when things work out like that.

The words fill my head

And fall to the floor

If God's on our side

He'll stop the next war.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com