Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-09-21

last night I was duly impressed with the president. I can not tell you how glad i am to be able to say that. i was watching on the NBC affiliate and Tom Brokaw said when he was done that you can really see how the president has matured in the last 9 days. I felt that way too. I was moved to tears when he spoke compassionately and eloquently about the Afghan people.(did you all look at the RAWA site I linked to yesterday? If not, please do. It is amazing) I was impressed that although he still looks like a goofy frat boy, he was speaking with strength and resolve and dare I say it, intelligence. I was moved to tears again when he said that terrorism in the name of Allah blasphemes the name of Allah. There were so many good things he said. I hope that people can take it to heart and apply it to their daily lives.

Of course, in the light of day I realize that there were some loopholes to his speech which leave room for actions I might not agree with. That is to be expected and there is no harder thing than to be a pacifist in the face of these complex issues. I don't think the US needs to police the planet but I do think that this is a good opportunity for the world to work together to end terrorist activities wherever they occur. I hope that everyone in the government who has to wrestle with these issues has a clear understanding of the difference between "justice" and "retribution". That is our only hope.

I will continue to pray that we do the right thing. I know that this will go on for a long time and I am sure that alot of things will be done in my name with which I do not agree. Things are done in my name with which I do not agree everyday, I just have chosen not to be aware of them. Now I am politicized and vigilant and ready to take whatever action I can to support innocent victims. It is hard, but I have chosen to be aware.

I liked when the president said that the best thing we as Americans can do is go back to our daily lives and show the terrorists that we are not afraid. We can be mindful while we do it, and we can be tolerant. LIke I have said before, this terrible tragedy seems to have turned most people into nicer people. That can only be a good thing.

I have recently been listening to Bruce Cockburn in an effort to feel less powerless and afraid. It is working.

one day you're waiting for the sky to fall the next you're dazzled by the beauty of it all

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com