Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-10-01

well, yesterday turned out to be a good one. Despite my late and lazy start, I got to the rummage sale before much serious business started, armed with cigarettes and donuts and funyuns. FUNYUNS! they make people happy. Funyuns are the kind of thing most ladies will not purchase for themselves but love to consume when offered. Mr Monday not only picked me up but also made me coffee when we got there. He is seriously in the running for SCREWDRIVER OF THE YEAR award.

We did a brisk business in clothes on sunday, as compared to saturday when we mostly got rid of the super high ticket items. B Monday was working the crowd to good effect. The rest of us didn't try that hard, but we were all tired out from either working the sale the day before or attending late night events. We once again had our share of the socially akward--we figured that there must be a contingent of people who actually go to rummage sales more as an excuse to talk to people than to actually buy things. While this is a sad comment on society, we were mostly glad to provide the service. The LUPEC ladies being a vivacious lot, it is understandable that people would want to hang around chatting with us for as long as possible. Squirrelly employed us all as models for the jewelry her aunt makes, for which she is making a website. We all got to pose in extremely funky necklaces and bracelets with the little plastic cherub as a unifying theme. It was fun and glamourous.

Mr Monday continued on his pursuit of excellency by going to get us some pizza for lunch. We ate and then we had to start taking the stuff all down. Bleah.

I called over to the mansion at 2:15 to tell the boys that if they got there before we had it all packed away they could have anything they wanted for free. I wasn't really expecting them to show but as we were packing along came my favorite blue truck. The groggy headed boy who emerged was very cute in his black bandana and aviator shades. I made him look through the records and I made him take a red suit. Really red. He put on the jacket and Mr Monday told him he looked like he was in Steppenwolf. Then came the point where the ladies got to grab all the things we wanted before shipping the rest off to goodwill, and I completed my Whiskey Daisy ex boyfriend collection of blue glass glasses cups and bowls, and got some sheets and bottles and records and CDs and a blender and a NICE MONKEY. I was so appalled that no one wanted the nice monkey. He is really nice. I made my favorite boy take the spider plant. He is good with plants while I am terrible at them. He brought me home and we talked about some mostly unpleasant things. Ugh. Hoping for the best for him and hoping that our "scene" can get things together and stop being so dumb. That is cagey I know but I am not going to go into details. We all just need to get on our best behavior and treat each other nice, that's all.

So I came home and talked to J* on the phone and then did the laundry. At the laundrymat I had an excersize in how little tolerance I have for bad children. I understand that when a mother is having to do something like 17 loads of laundry she does not have the attention span to watch what her child is doing, but there was a lot of ineffectual "Hey, don't throw that on the floor or I will beat your ass" going on. It didn't work, things were thrown on the floor and people were constanly run into and cars were smeared with ice cream and the like. It depressed me.

After laundry I got myself together to actually clean the kitchen, do all the dishes, clean out the fridge, and start soaking pintos for tonight's chile soup party. I don't know where the energy came from, but I was glad. I am hoping to coerce my favorite boy into coming for soup and bringing his headlamp so he can figure out what is going on under my sink.(if you don't know--trust me, you don't want to)

It's gonna be a big paper day at the bookstore---end of the week and end of the month and paying bills and making calendars. I feel up to the task.

It's gonna be a golden day.

suddenly half the world is mine what an amazing thing!

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com