Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-10-11

Oh honey, what a night.

What a fabulous, tipsy, happygirly night.

The LUPEC ladies ruled kareoke.

But more importantly, we drank together, and toasted each other, and became merry in spite of the terrible things which have happened to some of us individually in recent days not to mention the world at large.

We all cooed our great love for one another, and talked about how great it is to be in a sorority after being nonsorority freaks in college.

This is more important to me than I ever could have imagined.

The kareoke itself was brilliant. Sapphitini ruled as usual--not only belting it out from the heart but also TAP DANCING. Her crunked up version of "The Freaks Come Out at Night" was especially heartwarming.

Pink Squirrel overcame social dread to get up there and BE ELVIS. She had Kentucky Rain in her soul. Whisky Daisy got down in the crouch to growl "Never Say Never". It was so punk rock, even more so because she was in her prim and proper houndstooth check suit.

I did all my sluttiest 70s AM radio kareoke favorites and I swear, I really think my calling is to be some sort of businessmen's hotel lounge singer.

I'll bet I could get up on some Holliday Inn hotel stage in my purple velvet dress and croon old standards and have lonely business men throwing me twenties and buying me cocktails.

Truly I think my talents are wasted on the indie rock set.

My favorite moment was when Lionel, who had just recently been trying to be my "Boogie Man", jumped up on the mike to sing "Beth" with me. That was gratifying.

I also loved the mid somethin tan blonde haired ladies who had the vague memories of all the songs I sang, but could not place any of them. The 20 year old kareoke boy was completely unhelpful, so I had to yell out the original artist to them during the musical breaks. Everyone seemed to really dig "Bang a Gong", and I of course was diggin getting all into my Marc Bolan fantasy world. I even did the little foot shuffle, although I am sure no one else noticed.

There was this fellow there---probably homeless, or more likely from the shelter down the street, who got up to sing wearing some sort of pro freedom/anti bin laden shirt. We all bristled and prepared for the worst.

What we got was a voice so beautiful that some of us, especially our special guest, were moved to tears. This man BELTED IT OUT, and there was no one in that room who remained the same when he was done. He told us he had sung the song ("Wind Beneath My Wings")at a police funeral earlier in the day.

Wow.

The other kareoke singers were fair to good, no one was terrible, and the song selection was a lot of fun. Not too heavy on the Tim McGraw or Faith Hill which is something you have to look out for in these days.

I think downtown after work kareoke is fun. I think it will be a somewhat regular activity.

Perhaps next time Lionel will duet with me on "Ain't No Mountain High Enough"?

We had to get the hell out of there when the DJ put on Marvin Gaye. I was about to get myself in trouble with Lionel's friend.

Making our way home involved some ridiculous school girl behaviors, and Whisky Daisy putting on the MINGUSHAT which meant she had to talk like MINGUS. Whisky Daisy in her cute little suit with the cherub in her hand, giving directions in her MINGUS voice was too much. Luckily we did not laugh too much and wreck.

when the working day is done..

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com