Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-10-12

I really like to have eye opening times.

I really like to learn that the world is way bigger than I think.

Last night, sitting on the floor in a huge old abandoned building which was being transformed by artists of all description, most of whom I had never seen before, was one of those times.

40 rooms, 100 artists, working in collaboration to make an event. There are painters and sculptors and poets and musicians I DONT KNOW in this town, doing their thing, trying to make the world a better place.

I am volunteering my time for a few nights to help lead the public through this maze of creativity and hope. The women I met last night have been volunteering the past 8 MONTHS to this project, the artists I saw will be working day and night for the next 10 days.

I LOVE MY CITY.

I love the energy and excitement radiating out of those people. I love the glimpse of faces I recognize but don't know(the starbucks girl, a guy I see on his bike sometimes) peeking around corners, busily constructing spaces for interactive art. Community building. Think about it.

Sometimes I think I just need to run away because my world is too small and too cramped, and then something like this happens, and I see that there are whole other worlds going on right where I live. I can do anything, I can be anyone. There is room here.

After vounteer orientation, my internet friend and I met some others down at the Foundry to drink with purpose. It was a great happy girly time yet again, and again I had to stop and think--"see how different my life can be?"

There is room here.

It is big enough.

This morning has brought darkness past 7am(SO HARD to get up when it is pitch black out!), running into a woman I talked to for a long time last night on the bus this morning, good coffee and cranberry orange muffin, and Ed. Life is good, from where I am sittin.

i'm gatherin up my friends today

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com