Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-10-20

Mmmm, I should really do this.

If I don't do it now I might forget some of the massive good times.

I might have already forgotten some, but I have enough stored up that I think I will be able to convey to you how amazing my night was.

Ok....to start with, I came home and NAPPED like a mofo. I flung myself at the bed after seriously nodding out during the 12 minute bus ride from work to home. I was one tired lil camper. I could not nap for too long though, as there was EXCITEMENT coursing through my veins. Somehow I knew it was going to be a big night.

So I woke up and listened to Tricky and made myself the most kick ass dinner. I am still so proud and it was so easy and yet so incredibly delicious. What it was, was, chicken and brussels sprouts sauteed in butter and rooster sauce. Let me just tell you, I have never had anything better.(well, OK, I probably have. But I am in a superlative mood today) When I got home at 3am the house still smelled like my dinner and I was SO SAD because I had already eaten it all. Somehow the rooster sauce and butter together carmelized into this amazing not too spicy barbecue-y glaze. Oh my. Words can not express how yummy this was. I suggest if you have rooster sauce in your fridge right now(and if you DONT, go get some!!) you try this. I actually went into the strip today specifically to get more vegetables to cook with my new favorite sauce. Green beans and nappa cabbage are going to get the treatment next. Oh goodness. I can not wait till dinner time!

So, after that lifechanging dinner experience, I got dressed up in a seriously goofy gibson girl outfit. My new imaginary chinchilla coat(as off the hookboy christened it last night) has inspired me to dress like a character from Fitzgerald all the time. I put on my green velvet dress and purple boots and purple velvet hat with the bunch of grapes attached, and did the theda bera eye makeup.(so sorry, can not find a SINGLE PICTURE of Theda Bera on the web. Except for all the nude ones, which don't really show the eye makeup. Oh well) It was fun. We got to the place and I was surprised and delighted to see my favorite boy there. I knew he had said he might come, but I was not sure. It was sweet to see him, and hang out in the parking lot with some boys smoking and singing "Eyes Without a Face". Then we went in after the beer, and the instantaneous water heater cover band started to set up amps and things. Drank a lot of free beer, listened to some dreams, and stood close to my boy because he was cold. (ed note--he ASKED me to stand close to him because he was cold. swoony swoon swoon.) Saw lots of friends--it wasn't very populated but the people who did come out were seriously into the thing. We milled around and drank beer and then finally it was time for the thing to start. The fellow who had organized it had preselected 10 songs to be instantaneously covered by the assembled band, who had never played together before(well, some of them had, but not as a whole group) There were 5 guitarists, a moog player, two drummers, a conga player, and one bassist. Various of them took turns on vocals. At some points people from the audience took turns on vocals or congas or drums or keyboard. At one point, me and my favorite boy took the vocals for "Waterfalls" by TLC. I wanted to do the Lisa Lopez rap but the fellow who organized it hates it and forbid me to do it. So I sang the background vocals and my faveboy did the verses. It was great.

The last song of the set was "surrender" by cheap trick and I forced the stealthy guitarist up onto the stage for the vocals, since the time he did that song at kareoke is still one of my favorite all time moments. By this point the whole audience were slap happy drunk on free beer, rushing the stage, wildly spinning and dancing. After surrender, an impromptu unplanned and completely unorchestrated version of "Paranoid" errupted. No one needed lyric sheets for that one---faveboy and three other dudes jumped on the mikes, and all the guitarists and bassist and drummers knew it like the back of their hand. That was a magical moment, lemmetellya.

SO, basically, I fell in love with Pittsburgh all over again. So much talent and love in that room, people really putting out and bringing it together.

After all that madness then we had a Viragos set, which was also full of the love. By this time the audience were wobbly drunk and dancing madly and throwing themselves onto the stage and jumping on the mikes to sing backup and twirling each other around and shouting and screaming. We did FIVE encores. We were completely wracked by the time it was over. I bagged out before the last song because I had to pee like crazy, so roomie and my bassman and offtthehookboy(on keyboard, no less) did a sweet voiced version of "Summertime Blues" to the tune of "heart of iron"(one of our slow lovesongy numbers) It was all for the artworldtravellingirl, who was so wild and crazy and yelling for it all night long. Roomie was wearing his old bailey wig and edwardian sparkly jacket and boots and looked really cool, singing summertime blues to the tune of a slowjam. Tee hee hee.

After it was all done there was some milling around and spreading of the love. My internet friend was there with a really funny young man who wanted very badly to wear the mantle of number one viragos fan. I think he got it last night at least. Goodnight hugs were had and lots of congratulations and definitely a feeling that we have the coolest scene going, man.

As if that wasn't enough, in a few short hours I am going back for some more art. WHOOPIE!

I love my town.

amen.

believe in yourself the rest is up to me and you

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com