Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-10-21

It's really early to be up on a sunday morning, but I wanted to get a little computer time in before the DOUGHNUT ADVENTURE. As I was telling a boy the other night, all girl donut action will be happenin. I can not wait. After the girly donut trip(aside--I am not sure which is the correct spelling of donut, so I have finally decided to use the one which has fewer letters in it, for reasons of time efficiency) I have a LUPEC meeting at the home of Whisky Daisy. We finally get to see the all steel coffeemaker up close and personal. We will be drinking wine made by women vinters today. I am really excited.

Yesterday turned out to be a very satisfying day. I slept a good bit, I took myself to the strip district for breakfast at my secret little Italian breakfast cafe(I will share my secret with my friends, but I want to keep this place on the down low. It is so peaceful compared to DeLucas and I think the omlettes are better. Plus they bring you coffee in giant root beer mugs and the chairs have leopard print upholstery and the waitstaff is muy guapo and they bring you out a big basket of italian toast. yeah.) I sat facing the door so I could watch the people walk by eating asian barbecue, and then I went to Wholey's and loaded up. Got some beautiful salmon fillets, and bay scallops for $3.99/pound! Yee haw. I see pasta in my future. got some meats and lots of beautiful vegetables and the first pomegranate of the season. When the pomegranates come out I really start to turn to my witchy ways. Plus last year at pomegranate time I had a lucious bonding experience. You can read about it here.

While in the strip I stopped by the random CD seller to pick up some random CDs. I picked two Cds out of the international section based solely on their covers. One, some French Canadian compilation of mood music, is a little weird for me but kinda fun. Electronica with trumpets and trombones and clarinets. The other one, though, is a movie soundtrack from a spanish movie from 1994(les historias de KRONEN) and has provided me with a NEW FAVORITE BAND! They are called TRIBU-X. I can not figure out if they are from Spain or Latin America. They sing in spanish. There is one Cd available by them in all the world, an import from Germany. Of course CDNOW does not want to make me any promises about when they might be able to send it. I get the feeling from the dozen or so of spanish websites which mention them that they have broken up, so I may not ever get to get their album. I am so sad! They are a little bit modern rock, a little bit latin jazz, a little bit hiphop(before hiphop was cool) Anyway, next time J* goes to Spain she has a mission to find out about this band for me. I listened to that a few times and then I went to bloomfield to see about getting all my hair cut off. Of course, all the salons in bloomfield close early on saturday(????) so I am still shaggy. SO I had to go to Paul's. Magically, I had in the morning been reading the insert booklet to my Arabian Groove Cd, and there was one fellow I really liked who has an album on Peter Gabriel's Real World label. And there it was in Paul's. So I got that. My world music collection is growing by leaps and bounds and I couldn't be happier.

Made my dinner(the napa cabbage in rooster sauce was YUM!) and then head out to MAS. Ran into the performance art girls and one of them hugged me and told me that she had to leave the show on friday night because she had been tripping and became convinced that we were all vampires. She made a very convincing argument. Apparently she has made a video explaining it, which is being edited into the video of the event. Hopefully we can show that at the BAB. Hung out and smoked with her a while, and then one of the dancing girls came out and I hung with her. I checked out a lot of performances which were very cool, and I checked the status of all the rooms, and I visited the DJs. I wished I was not so tired I could barely move. Besides all that goodness going down, there was the G&L film festival, some kind of rave, and a big party at Pegasus going down all in a 3 block space last night. It made me want to hunt down one of those people who are always saying that nothing happens in PGH and strangle them. I was talking with the performance art girl about that and we agreed that there is often way too much going on in PGH! Lovely. I missed the african drumming and dancing and went to wait for my bus. Got a nice parade of gay men going past me from the film festival to the bar. Noticed this season's young gay uniform---soft channel knit mock turtleneck sweaters in sunwashed colors, paired with camel colored cargo pants. Seriously, I saw at least four boys in variations on this outfit. Finally, I got home and went to bed. I am still sore from the dancing and drumming rockstar adventure, but it is a good kind of sore. The kind that makes me think of how lucky I am.

there is no end to what we can do together....

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com