Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-12-24

This morning there are squalls outside the window! I love that word squalls. It is pretty much one of the most onomatopoeic words related to weather.

It's 8:52am on christmas eve morning and my apartment totally smells like bacon. I have been having a bacon fetish as of late. A bacon fetish is not the kind of thing a girl admits easily UNLESS she is joined in the bacon fetish by a friend. Then it does not seem so crazy to go to breakfast and order the two eggs with bacon breakfast with a side of bacon. Bacon at home can lead to a very quick gravy and toast thing which is always nice. Since there are squalls this morning I am not going to be in any hurry to get to work.(the store is not open today, but I am going in to do a little heavy lifting and to get my present from my assistant manager. whoop whoop!) I will take my leisurely time drinking hot coffee, eating toast with gravy and wrapping the rest of the presents while listening to some weird holiday music. Then hopefully I will see J* and then off to work and then off to Dormont for Johnstonfest 2001. I am really looking forward to hanging with the fam and being cozy and tasting some of that 18 year old scotch again. Tee hee!

Last night I really thought I would have a rotten time, but instead I ended up having a fabulous time. I love it when that happens! First I made plans to go to breakfast with J* and her friend from North Carolina by way of Brooklyn. While I waited for them to come and get me I started wrapping presents, but was interrupted by my highschoolbuddy who needed me to sing "Do They Know It's Christmas?" to her over the phone so she could type out the lyrics for the Mofones. She did not actually request that I sing it, but I told her that there was no way I was going to be able to remember it all unless I actually became Sting and George and Bono and Boy and especially Simon. Then went to Pamelas for breakfast and had a great corned beef hash and nice time with the gentlemanly southernboy. J* was experiencing some kind of stomach demon which put a little damper on things, but it was a sweet time and it all felt very natural which was a good sign, I think.

Got home and roomie offered to drive me to the sa side for the Mofones party so I did not have to rush the way I thought I might. I debated how dressy I was going to be but in the end I wore the green velvet dress and white stockings and black shoes and it reminded me of going to church at Christmas. Back when I used to do that sort of thing. Got to the brewhouse and the loft where the party was is absolutely GORGEOUS and Ms Monday and I set about getting everything ready. We really are a well oiled party machine, and once again it became painfully obvious that our true calling is to be party planners for the wealthy. I separated a few eggs to start with, imagining that most people would be a little squeamish about the mae west cocktail and I did not want a bunch of egg yolks sitting around at the end of the night.

Little did I know the mae west cocktail would be staggeringly popular and we would go through two whole dozen!! Wow. Black Monday was working the bloody marys and I held down the mae west fort for a while and then I handed over my post to Whisky Daisy. Spent most of the evening hangning out being silly with my Lonely Planet Boy, of whom I am extremely fond. He had a couple of mae wests and got real silly and giggly and it was so much fun. Plus he is just dreamy and he was wearing a really nice gray thermal shirt and looked fantastic. Sigh. Plus, he had a present for me in the trunk of his car! Tee hee!

The bands played and were sparkly holiday fun. The place filled up with cheerful people who loved the cocktails and were behaved for the most part. There were sparkling lights and disco balls everywhere. I was with my LUPEC sisters, working the bar and hugging and kissing and spreading holiday cheer. A delightful night!

I left with the Lonely Planet Boy who gave me the present to open in the car while he drove. It is a watercolor painting he did of a blonde boy in his backyard, wearing a stripey t shirt and baggy jeans. It is just HEARTBREAKINGLY BEAUTIFUL, just like the band, just like he is. I teared up in the car and we had an akward over seatbelt and big coats hug and christmas kiss. I am so fond of him. Sigh. Tee hee.

Christmas is a time to say I love you..

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com