Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

January 28, 2002

I can't believe the weekend is over.

I really was enjoying it. I really hoped it would last and last. At least long enough for me to finish all the dishes and put away all the clothes. Oh well.

I guess if I had forced myself to stay awake past 9:30pm last night I would have gotten more done, but the exhaustion set in and I could not beat it.

Yes, it was a truly exhausting weekend of fun fun fun. I am hoping this new flexible job bohemian lifestyle thing pans out quickly because it sure is hard to drag my ass to work after all these good times.

Saturday in the strip was a special kind of madness. You could not walk five feet without running in to a vendor of Steelers memorabilia, shirts and hats and these pimpy plastic gold chains with huge golden footballs hanging off of them. Talk about blinging. I tried to get one for MIF but I could not find anyone actually selling them. I tried to get bread for french toast but the bread was gone. So I got makings for breakfast burritos and I got some norweigian skiing cheese and crackers and I got bakewell tarts and I got some kettle corn FRESH OUT OF THE POT(hubbahubba) and then I got the hell out of there. It was a sort of mass hysteria. It creeped me out, but then I started to think about how american society does not have many opportunities for this sort of ritualized gathering and celebrating, dressing up in costumes and letting out lots of pent up emotion. It is sort of like mardi gras or the old greek festivals. So once I put a sociological spin on it I felt a little better.

Tried to nap but could not. Finally got the call from my honeygirl with her wicked plan to go out for sushi before the monks. Wicked wicked girl. She came to get me with her sweet roomate boy in tow and we went to the sushi place where I first had sushi with her, and we could not help laughing hysterically when the waitress told us that we should check off our sushi order on the sheet and then she would go over it with us so there was no confusion, because we knew that this rule had to have been instated after the last time we were there for sushi after her film and somehow the group ended up ordering about $800 worth of sushi by mistake. Hee hee hee. It was a good sushi time and then we went on to see the monks. It was absolutely mind blowing, the moves they did and the feats of concentration and strength and the beauty of the dances with orange robes and yellow robes and red fans, and the young young boys(maybe 5 or 6) who demonstrated moves in such precise and concentrated ways, and the monkey style and the scorpion style and the drunken style(favorite of my honeygirl--hee hee) and the guy who did lots of contortionist style poses, and the one guy laying on a bed of swords with a bed of nails on top of him, and another guy on top of that, and a brick on top of that which was hit with a sledgehammer....it was incredible. Most incredible was the final trick they did where a bunch of them laid flat on their stomach accross the stage, and one guy jumped up and started rolling and they literally sprang straight up in the air as he rolled under them. I don't know if I am describing this so you can see it in your mind but these monks were levitating straight off the ground. Incredible.

So then we went to the theater to visit with the kids for a while, and my honeygirl made us some lattes and of course I was impressed with her---she just has the skills. Hands down. We chatted with a really funny boy who explained in detail the plot of "Dude, Where's My Car?" and insisted that we had to see it because it is about ALIENS. Tee hee. He also told us about his plans to make a film about the god of amusement park height requirements. I was feeling sleepy and not very engaging, but I was loving listening to him and thinking about the fact that I am constantly meeting the most creative funny people and they are all in filmmaking. Hope for the future, you say?

We went back to my honeygirl's house and we went to the secret attic room and listened to marlene for a while. And we got some sleep, and when the alarm went off I was happy that I was not the one who had to go to work for once. We trundled back into the car with the sweet boy and the wooden swords so they could do some practicing in the lobby at work when no one was there, and I jumped out at the grocery store and got some eggs and then waited for the bus to the saside.

Got to MIF's place and she was already boiling potatoes and we got it all together and made some kick ass breakfast burritos---eggs and potatoes and beans and bacon and cheese and sour cream and chipotle sauce and rooster sauce. Amen. SO YUMMY. We feasted like queens and watched the IRON CHEF tape she had taped for me (millenium battle!!) and I loved it. And then we had coffee and chocolate chip cookies and watched the football game, and it was so great for me to watch the foot ball game with her because we seemed to have just about the same appreciation for football and also because we find the same things funny and also because during commercials and at half time we could switch back to the IRON CHEF.

And we rooted and cheered as hard as we could for the Steelers to win, and it was nice because both of us were rooting and cheering as hard as we could so that our friends who really really care about football would be happy. But it was not to be, and it was sad, and we were a little afraid to go out in the street but she drove me home listening to the Sex Pistols and it was fine.

And I settled in with some kettle corn and watched a terrible, terrible movie (Death and Desire--ugh ugh ugh) and I washed some dishes listening to the HITS ALBUM(all 80s british charttoppers!) and then I watched some of the New Wave Cabaret movie from a few years ago, only the part where my favorite boy plays, and then I watched my Yankee Doodle Dildo fourth of july party movie, and I felt happy and content and sleepy and so I went to bed. I missed a LUPEC gathering and I missed a show at Roboto, but sistah needed to get some rest. And now I need to go to work and start the process all over again...

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com