Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

March 11, 2002

What a weekend!

Well, for me, it was a one actual day off kind of weekend. But still, lots of downtime and lots of FUN FUN FUN was had.

Saturday, after work, I went with the viragos to take some photobooth pictures for our new CD, tentatively titled TEA AND BATH(after the favorite departing the bar utterance of Famous Larry, our CD benefactor) So we took some tea-and-bath related props--tea bags, teapot and cup, and my special rubber devil duck which J* got me for christmas. It was a lot of fun. There were also sunglasses and boas going on--of course.

After photos we went to the house with the golden door and looked through some of the 300 records which offthehookboy had gotten from Jerry's free record giveaway. I picked out a few to take with me---FOR LOVERS ONLY, by Jackie Gleason, and some Journey albums. I wanted to take the Reader's Digest EASY LISTENING COUNTRY compilation(5 records!) but my bassman would not let me. So I am going to have to borrow it and tape it. It has Glen Campbell doing "Galveston". It has The Silver Fox doing "Behind Closed Doors." IT had Charlie Pride doing "Kiss an Angel Goodmorning." Woo hoo.

So my honeygirl came and got me, and we went to feed the cats and then we headed into Bloomfield for dinner. Ended up getting out of the car just as the monsoon hit, and so were absolutely drenched by the time we got to the restaurant(a block? not even) Had some good steaks and bass and then on to the gallery(did not end up "hopping" because of the weather, unfortunately)Checked out the art and chatted with some people and then went next door for a little coffee warm up to wait for DarkandStormy. There we ran into an old friend of mine from the Co-op days, and we sat and chatted with her and her friend for a while. It was nice, but a little weird. You know how sometimes you see someone you haven't seen in a long time and all you want to do is tell them everything that happened to you in the last 5 years, but you can't because there are other people there, people on your side who know what happened to you and people on her side who know what happened to her, and so you have to be polite and try to have a conversation in which everyone will participate? It was like that. SO hopefully she will call me and we can go out alone and catch up.

So we go back to the gallery and meet up with D&S and head on up to the goose, blaring the tunes and laughing and having a swell time. Arrive early, get beered up and are joined by the fabulous gay rockerboy who was drunk and charming and bought us another round. Then the Lorelei, and they were amazing, and I saw some people who had seen faveboy and reported that he did indeed purchase for his own entertainment some sort of high powered assault weapon. We danced and drank and then piled back into the pimp-mo-bile to head over to the drag queen rock show. Where we ran into LUPEC sisters, and drank more and got candy necklaces. And I saw for the first time in years PETER FROM MACE. He has dyed his hair platinum blonde and he is wearing in a style which makes him look like Simon LeBon in that Arcadia period where he had the really bad hair. It just depressed me, cuz here was the gothboy I was most in love with, who used to jump around the stage looking like Edward Scissorhands with the giant blueback hair and eyeliner. Sigh.

So after the drag queens we went back to J*'s place and tumbled into bed and did not get up, really, until 2pm. WOO! Then it was a big post drag queen rock show breakfast with potatoes and eggs with smoked and tomatoes and tortillas and some really good bacon and jamaica blue mountain. Oh, and do-si-dos. Sometimes there is nothing quite like girlscout cookies for breakfast.

Laid around on the couch all day long, watching pieces of movies and the Journey behind the music, and lots of VH1Soul videos. (VH1classic videos was having some sort of Def Leppard festival, which was okay in small doses but really scary when they showed recent stuff. Joe has not aged well at all.)

Also we saw a show about 80's metal which was a lot of fun. The tension between the hairspray boys and the speedmetal boys was palpable.

In the evening we went to see a travelling filmshow--two boys from Portland who are touring the country with their films. It was great, and my honeygirl and the keyring girl talked to them because that is what they want to do this summer.

And then back and into the bed, and up this morning for coffee and MANNIX. wahoo.

I leave you with a quote from my new favorite song, which is about LOVINYOSELF!!!!

umm, I was looking so good I couldn't reject myself

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com