Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

March 18, 2002

so.

that fabulous day on friday remained fabulous, except for the fact that I was suddenly sick as a dog upon getting downtown, and by the time I got to the bookstore I looked so horrible that my assistant sent me away immediately. I think it was some mild food poisoning. I managed to not puke all the way home, but when I got home I kinda let loose and then managed to drink some water and force myself to sleep. The sleep helped, and when I woke I felt sort of better.

I got myself together and made some dinner for J*, and we went to the gallery to check out the video and to chat with people. There was some bad news over the weekend, one of our Pittsburgh to Brooklyn expats was shot and killed in a breakin. It cast quite a pall over the evening, even though he was not someone I knew so well. Lots of my friends were very good friends with this person, and the feelings of despair and helplessness were palpable.

Left kinda early with my HG, slept hard, and then started on our shopping oddessy. We hit the co-op and the indian store and the beer distributor. Then we went to see VERONICA'S VEIL. wowee gazowee. It most closely resembled a highschool play being performed by adults, complete with some yinzer accents. The sets and costumes were awesome, and when the actors WEREN'T speaking, it was very moving and inspirational. But the dialogue was often a little laughable, and we were not the only people laughing. Favorite moment: when the small boy behind us looked at the large depiction of Jesus' face on the screen and said "mommy, why is Big Jesus wearing hay on his head?"

After that we went to filmmakers to load up projection stuff, then over into the depths of the southside st patrick's day madness to try to find a place to park. It took well over 20 horrifying minutes, and then we had to walk through those people with their green hats and mardi gras beads to get some dinner. We ate at the diner which was good except that it was all full of more of those people. I was trying to allow the spiritual goodness of the afternoon to flow through me but really I just wanted to start throwing darts and spears. They were awful. Just awful.

After dinner we stopped in to DarkandStormy's crib for a little preshow cocktail, and then we headed down to the place to get some people to help haul equipment.. To be continued.....

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com