Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

April 17, 2002

A funny thing has been happening to me when I go to the $1.49 video store. I have been trying to find this film, which I could not remember the name of, only that it had "of hearts" in the title. So, I have been grabbing up every film I find with "of hearts"--what you need to know to understand this is that the $1.49 movies have no boxes or descriptive info. Just the title. So unless you know what you are looking for it is something of a gamble.

Anyhow, turns out I am looking for this film, which is really nothing like I described it to J* the other night.(well, it is in France, but he is not an old man and there are not really children, just child-like crazy people.) I have not found this film yet, but I am willing to bet I will stumble accross it at the $1.49 video store eventually. If you get the chance to see it, you should. Although I could not actually remember ANY details correctly, I do remember that it is one of those "small french films" which people generally describe as "magical."

So, in the pursuit of "KING of Hearts", I have purchased both"Thieff of Hearts" and "Three of Hearts" which I watched last night because I was way too jazzed to go to sleep after my long ass day at the bookstore. What a weird movie! It was cool in a way that the girl girl relationship was not made SPECIAL, it was treated like any other relationship, but there was the element of "lesbian as nutcase" which made me very uncomfortable. It was too jarring to see Connie going from being a totally on top of things RN to being a complete basket case on a daily basis. I mean, I guess people do function like that, but it was just too extreme. And then there was Joe the Gigalo----played by William Baldwin, who looks enough like a friend of mine named Joe with a special obsession with the Baldwin brothers that I was amused as much by that as by the movie. His acting was not all that hot. I was especially bothered by the fact that there did not seem to be any qualitative difference between Joe the Hustler telling women what they want to hear and Joe the Sensitive Guy being REALLY in love with Connie's girlfriend. It was an odd movie. It disturbed me, but it also made me curious as to how it was perceived when it first came out.(1993, the year after "Basic Instinct")

Well, it's about time to get back on the chain gang. Is everyone enjoying the beautiful weather? I hope so. Go climb a tree or something..

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com