Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

September 11, 2002

I'm taking a few moments today that I really dont have, to reflect on the fact that one year ago this minute I was sitting in this chair thinking that everything was going to be the same.

One year ago in a few minutes, my friend came to deliver krispy kreme donuts to me, and when I walked her out to her car, we heard Howard Stern making some sick joke about a plane crashing into the world trade center. Only it wasn't a joke.

One year ago in about 45 minutes, I was listening to the radio and one of the professors here at the college who I really respect, who is from the middle east, came in to listen, and I saw that he was weeping.

One year ago in about an hour, people were calling me telling me that the roads out of the city were being blocked and all the major buildings were being evacuated, and I had better get out.

And so we did. And then I began the walk, which is the thing I most clearly remember. It was hot, and people were on the street screaming and crying and beating wildly at their cell phones. I walked.

This morning, as my honeygirl was driving me to work, we got rearended. The car is mostly okay, just seems to be surface damage, but I feel jarred. And I have to admit I feel like I have a better understanding of sudden, unexpected, uncontrollabe violence.

May everyone walk in peace today.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com