Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

October 07, 2002

Feeling a little sniffly this morning---the fall is roaring in and the wind was blowing on me all night. I was too tired to even realize, much less get up and do something about it.

It was another one of those action packed weekends. I remember when I used to RELAX. Not anymore.

Friday night went to a nice dinner party up on the mountain. Lots of favorite funny people were there, good food, beer and whiskey, delicious vegan apple pie, arm wrestling, home surgery, and the rolling stones. It was a full night.

Saturday saw us up bright and early, out to breakfast, out to KMART to buy some large trashcans for trim bins at the filmschool, and for me, a waffle iron, nonstick skillet with lid, and large blue plastic tote for toting. Then a stop at a yardsale, even though it seemed we could not possibly cram one more thing into the car. We managed to cram in two cookbooks, a bamboo steamer, a slow cooker, an electric fondue pot, and several trays. Woo hoo!

Then it was chopping time. Once again my zen chopping experience was interrupted---this time by the birthday party for the one year old child of a local political activist. So there were lots of screaming running toddlers, screaming babies, and screaming political activists. It was a very loud afternoon in the Quiet Storm.

After chopping, drove out to Penn Hills to visit some glass artists so my honeygirl could buy a wedding gift. We found a beautiful starfish wallhanging, and then we went to the indian vegetarian restaurant. My life is definitely changed. Sure, it is a pain in the ass to get there. But the food is so amazing. I can hardly even describe it. The rice flour pancakes with shreds of fresh coconut and cilantro in the batter. The pakoras. The lentil donuts. The samosas. The rice, the pooris. It was all beyond yummy. Plus, they have pictures of Krishna on the walls. You dont see much of that in the north indian style restaurants. The indian people there seemed to really be enjoying the dosas---We must have seen 12 of them come out of the kitchen while we were there. Way bigger than my head, they were.

After dinner there was just time for a coffee before the rock.

I enjoyed the ACGC until I could feel my eardrums popping, and then I went to the back. I had a few beers and a bunch of cigarettes and some conversations and hugs. And then I got in the saddle for the brains, and they rocked me all the way down. It was a real hot show, and they looked great up there on the big new stage. They played several new songs and all of them were good, and they played old favorites and they just sounded like ROCK GODS. The guitar player jumped up on the drums for riffing, aiming his guitar like a weapon. You know, the way rock gods do. My favorite boy was working the bass like crazy, and the stealthy guitarist was just laying back. Keepin the groove on. THe drummer had tied ninja cords around his head and chest and arms, and then he took off his shirt. It was almost too much. AND they got their records AND the records look great. I have not heard one yet, but I hear it sounds better than the CD even. Whoosh.

Sunday was brunch. We had a great time despite the fact that we got slammed, and the pilot light went out on the oven 3 times, meaning that the potatoes were not cooking. Despite that, we had a lovely time and the overwhelming majority of people loved it all. Next week I think we will mix it up a little with some vegan waffles and some tempeh sausage. Hmm.....

AND THEN, LUPEC at Dark and Stormy's house. We celebrated canada with the maple leaf and poutin. The five of us who were there got really wild, talking and laughing and smoking and eating chocolate and singing along to RUSH. It was definitely more a warm fuzzy get together than a LUPEC business meeting, and that was what we needed. Still, we got some business covered. But mostly, we had a relaxing time hanging with the ladies. It was great.

ANd now, suddenly, it is Monday. And tonight I have to wash all the dishes in the sink, and empty the shopvac and most likely have a visit from the tall boy who will climb the new shiny ladder and change my bulb. And maybe he will bring over Lonesome Crow. Hee hee.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com