Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

October 11, 2002

Today is a day of celebration!!

I was blearily washing dishes this morning, waiting for the bad bad news I expected to hear on the NPR headlines. Sure enough, Congress has given Bush the go ahead to attack Iraq if that is what he really thinks he needs to do.

But before I had to hear that, I heard this:

Jimmy Carter won the Nobel Peace Prize!

You know that I am a Carter-phile. I just think he is the smartest most sentient being we have ever had in the white house. And he has gone on to become even smarter and more sentient as time has gone on. He truly understands that a nation can not have peace until its citizens have adequate food and shelter and healthcare. He understands that the underlying cause of almost ALL agression is economic. He understands that calling a nation EVIL is a crime. He understands that hate is only a motivator for the privaledged. The agression of most of the "evil" nations we are so concerned about is motivated by a drive for survival.

It was a really interesting juxtaposition to hear those two pieces of news one after another. I know that Bush is not going to take any advice from Old SOftie Carter. I just hope that he will come to his senses, somehow, before he sends thousands of Americans into the desert to fight a war that most Americans not only do not support, but do not understand.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com