Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

October 17, 2002

Here's something that you learn when you cater expensive parties for rich people:

put enough champagne in 'em, and everyone turns into a wild animal.

Seriously. It was like Caligula in there. People in very expensive velvet dresses, literally diving into trays of food as we tried to make our way from the kitchen in one corner of the room to the buffet table out in the hallway. By the time we would get to the table, the grape leaves we put out on our last odyssey would be gone. I watched a woman stand in front of the tray and literally cram 7 potato fritters in her mouth one after another.

I have to blame the champagne(50 bottles of which was gone in less than 2 hours) because it is hard to believe that these people could attain the levels of success and social standing they clearly had if they behaved like this in public all the time.

Despite the bad behaviour on the part of the wealthy elite, I had a great time. It was very gratifying to see ALL THE FOOD disappear, and it was really nice to get the occasional semi-coherent compliment. Herbs and Spices is clearly doing something right. LOTS of people took our card. I think we are going to have a very busy holiday season!

And tonight is SAHARAHOTNIGHTS, a bunch of girls from Sweden who rock like Joan Jett mixed with the Scorpions. So says Giant Robot magazine. I can not wait!

And tomorrow night, we cater an opening at Garfield, and then over to Gooskis for a Friday night show with the JBB and Oakley Hall. And a surprise visit from an out of town guest, for which I am very excited.

And Saturday, I AM GOING TO SLEEP IN. And then I am going to go to Dormont to see my baptist hairdresser auntie who will be up from North Carolina. After careful consideration I have decided to not make any mention of my current alternative lifestyle status, partially because I don't want to steal my sister's lesbian avenger fire, but mostly because I just do not feel like arguing. As my very smart friend T said to the bartender who was trying to give me a lot of shit for CHOOSING to "switch teams"---"she chose happiness." Happiness is a choice. I am in no mood for a "love the sinner, hate the sin" lecture. I would like to have a nice comfy stress free visit with relatives. And get out of there by 7pm so I can see the women's shorts at the Warhol for the GLBT film fest.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com