Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

October 24, 2002

So part three of my adventures in culture and nostalgia featured dinner at Joe Mamma's, a fine kooky italian restaurant, with my highschoolbuddy. We had drinks and appetizers and salad and bread and entrees and dessert. It was wildly decadent, and we were there for two hours. This is significant.

We had a nice time chatting and catching up. She has been as outrageously busy as I have lately so we have not had time to chat in a while.

OOH OOH OOH! before I met her, I went to the Cd Warehouse in Oakland and discovered it has been infiltrated by the lesbian mafia. Melissa Ferrick was playing, and The Butchies and Le Tigre were on display. It was nice. I bought another Ani CD(featuring a nice new bunch of bisexual songs! hoorah) and a used CD by Des'ree. You know, you gotta be bad you gotta be bold you gotta be wiser....

So we had our long and decadent meal, and then walked to the frick fine arts building. Again with the nostalgia---I used to go there to have lunch with my dear friend Caroline when I was at Pitt. So we went into the auditorium, and there was my FIRST GAY CRUSH AT PITT, this beautiful poet boy named Jeff. He used to come down and talk to me when I was a ranchhand at Roy Rogers in the Cathedral of Learning. I had high hopes until one day I saw him sitting at a table with my gayboyfriend Chris and his friends. Chris later consoled me by saying "Sorry sweetie, he's on my team...but you're so wonderful, I bet he'd change for you."

That is what you want your gayboyfriends to say in that situation.

So there he was, looking like a more mature and less long haired version of his former self, but still all smiles and sweetness. Sigh. Of course he did not appear to recognize me, so I did not make any moves to talk to him. But I was charmed.

The auditorium was less than half full of people who had to come to get credit for class(you could tell by the way they made sure to grab fliers) and a few scattered people who might work in the creative writing program. We guessed we were two of possibly four civilians there.

And then the first woman got up to introduce the second woman, both of them instructors in the creative writing program. And the second woman introduced Joanne Beard, whom we had come to hear.

And she got up there, and read ONE PIECE, and didn't tell us where it was from, or when it was published, and answered ONE QUESTION, and then it was over.

Our dinner lasted roughly 4 times as long as the reading.

Harrumph.

There was a really over the top spread for the reception---I felt bad that we were so full, since there was so much food not getting eaten.

But really. If you are going to bother ot do a reading, wouldn't you read more than one thing? Talk about your process a little? Explain this whole crazy creative nonfiction thing? Or something?

I felt cheated.

But I got home in time to put on my new jammies and watch a little inane television before going to an early bed.

And while waiting at the busstop, I saw a young woman who played the cello, and had painted her cello case yellow, and had written on it in black paint the following quote from Emo Phillips:

some mornings it just doesn't seem worth it to chew through the leather straps."

Amen.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com