Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

October 29, 2002

Hard to choose a favorite among the Bush quotes, but I would have to say this one is particularly amusing.

You know, I was thinking about Ford recently. I can barely remember Ford(I'm not THAT old) but I get the sense that he was mostly bumbling. As in, not terribly frightening along with being bumbling. I guess that I wish I could wholeheartedly laugh when the President of the United States says something completely stupid, but unfortunatley Bush has a vaguely menacing undercurrent that keeps me from laughing too long or too loud. The laugh is always followed immediately by a sense of dread that the goofy one is running the show.

Speaking of dread, last night I was walking after dark in a "sketchy" neighborhood, on my way to Wholefoods. I will refrain from riffing on how there is probably little chance that upscale trendy natural foods grocery is going to make a huge difference in the neighborhood, because I am trying to make a point about ME ME ME.

And the point is, for the first time in my life, I was FRIGHTENED walking alone in the dark in a sketchy neighborhood. And do you want to know WHY I was frightened? The snipers. More specifically, the television coverage of the snipers. I was walking along feeling fine and happy that it was a crisp fall night and I was going to buy some natural foods, when suddenly I was struck with the thought that someone could come along and snipe me and there was not a damn thing I could do. Having a gun of my own would be no defense against a random sniper, nor would mace or karate. I found myself hurrying to walk behind a building, practically in an alley, to avoid being exposed to the open road. Where sniping might be going on.

Now, there is no reason for me to think that I would be sniped walking along Baum blvd in East Liberty, Pittsburgh, PA. But what if some disgruntled something or other watched enough TV, and got a gun, and started randomly sniping in whatever nieghborhood...because they saw what an impact can be made?

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com