Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

April 11, 2003

OK, I don't regularly make it my business to rag on the Pope. I mean, he has truly done some great stuff; he has attempted to reconcile some elements which have never been reconciled, he has taken certain stupid world leaders to task for their arrogance, and he is certainly a figure of hope and reverence for a great many people.

BUT, when he comes out saying things like this, it makes me mad. Just because people are not showing up in church does not mean the country is a "spiritual wasteland." Just because people are not buying in to the stifling Catholic picture presented over there does not mean that the people are heathens. Yeah, I've been going to church recently and I am all about Brother Roger and his vision of reconcilliation, but when the Pope says devisive stuff like this it is hard to imagine it ever coming to pass.

And oh yeah--blame it on the media. That's original.

If you really want to fix the problem of the pagans not showing up for your church, Pope, you should try to figure out what it is that they don't like about it, why the church is failing them, and change it. (Insert snarky comment about the appropriation of Celtic/pagan elements into Catholic doctrine the first go round, here.)

Even the most godless, media-drenched cretins can be made to feel good in church if you give them something to relate to. If you keep making devisive and alienating remarks, you are going to lose not only the infidel Scots but also people who are sympathetic to their problems.

And don't even get me started on gay pride....

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com