Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

April 21, 2003

I know I said that I did not make a habit of ragging on the Pope just a while back, but I feel compelled to rag on him again. Maybe I should start a whole separate website to complain about the Pope.

The funny thing is, I am not even remotely Catholic, so what the Pope says is really of no consequence to me. But I know that there are still lots of people in the world who regard the Pope as God's Special Representative on Earth, and not as a wholly falliable human.

It's a pity, because he keeps saying stupid shit that pisses me off.

Like last week, he wrote an encyclical(a letter to "the faithful") all about the Eucharist. It is pretty long, and I actually did look it up on the Vatican webpage ***(NICE! design) and read a good bit of it, but mostly I am taking Bob Abernathy's word for what it says.

And that is---Catholics can not take the Eucharist from non-catholics. Non-catholics can not take it in Catholic churches. And divorced and remarried people can not take it no way, no how.

Now how exactly is that forwarding the cause of COMMUNION and RECONCILLIATION?

It isn't. Grr, grr.

Ok, enough griping about the Pope. He is not my problem.(you Catholics should do something though.)

Personally, I had a delightful Easter weekend. I did some prep on Saturday, and then had a wonderful day in the kitchen on Sunday. I arrived at the QS at 6:15am, got my Zep on, and cooked up a storm. It was pretty slow as brunches go, but everyone was in a good mood and smiling and listening to Peter Tosh and just generally having a groovy time. And I made carrot raisin walnut salad with the cutest plastic bunny decorations.

OH! And Saturday night, I went to a filmshow where I got to see the work of many of my friends, AKA the MOST TALENTED PEOPLE IN FILMMAKING TODAY. Honest to goodness, I was totally blown away by the stuff I saw on Saturday. I would have been blown away even if most of them were not CLOSE PERSONAL FRIENDS. I was just so full of the love of Pittsburgh. Rock on.

Tonight is mondo catering 2003. I have to do a boatload of stuff. Luckily, it is sunny and not pouring down rain for my trip to la foodland.

The bookstore is clearing out....slowly but surely. I need to tackle the books in a big way. That will be tomorrow.

***note on the link to the vatican webpage--I was going to link to the actual letter, but I wanted you to have the experience of the english page loading. Click on it and see what I mean.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com