Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

June 13, 2003

HI!

I am not really back in the saddle yet. I am babysitting the bookstore I used to work in while the manager (who I used to work for, long long ago) is at a meeting. So I have limited time only internet access. And I am bored. Incredibly bored.

And I am also eating the most bizarre donut I have ever sampled. It is a krisy kreme. It is a raised donut of the jelly-filled variety. It has some sort of coconut creme icing on top, and some sort of butter-crunchy cinnamon coffeecake things on top of that. And inside.....inside is LEMON FILLING. Now any one of these things on its own proper donut would be just fine. Some of my favorite donuts ever, in fact, have had lemon filling, or coconut icing, or coffeecake things on top. But ALL TOGETHER?? It is like the 3am gettin high on the job donut. Like the guy working the late shift just decided to close his eyes and spin around and throw whatever he touched on there. I love it for its nonconformity.

Did I ever tell you guys about how I worked in a donut shop in Albuquerque before I got my dream bookstore job?

WAIT! Let me first tell you that Whitesnake is on the radio right now. It is important to know this setting aside because it is likely that I will have to take several breaks in the action to sing along and imagine Tawny Kittaen humping that car and tossing her lingerie huffily into the suitcase.

Anyways, back in the day I got this job as a counter girl at the Mr Donut. It was the first job I could find after being wholly unemployed for a month after our great hippie adventure. A month spent laying in the big bed in the motel room, watching cable access shows about the lady who talked to the Virgin Mary in her livingroom. And lots of death metal shows.

So I got the job at Mr Donut, and I was a counter girl, and I used to get yelled at by the Pakistani owner for handing out too many napkins with the donuts, but mostly I got to hang out with the tough cowboys who drank coffee all day and TIPPED ME. I started to really love the donut job, and then they decided that I could be trained to FINISH the donuts. So I became a donut finisher, which meant I got to do things like shove the donuts two at a time onto the jelly filling machine, and also dump donuts into 50lb vats of powdered sugar. It was bliss.

But then I got the REAL JOB, and my career as a donut finisher was over. But I still have the memories.

The end.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com