Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

June 16, 2003

another day of babysitting...this one a surprise, as today was supposed to be my last day as a loafer but my friend's baby was having an asthma attack, so she needed to leave early. So here I am, again, on my own. Going down the only road I've ever known.

Just thought I would continue the Whitesnake references. They really bring us closer together, don't they?

The worst part about babysitting this store is that it is chock full of delicious salty snacks(that is what they are called on the cash register, I swear) and candy. I would never in a million years consume a payday bar in the outside world, where I would be required to go to the store, find it, take it to the clerk and pay for it. Just wouldn't happen. But when they are RIGHT THERE, it is hard to avoid. The OTHER worst part is that this is a PEPSI only campus, and we all know how I feel about Pepsi. But if I am going to consume salty snacks, I have to wash them down with something cola-esque. It's a connundrum.

So I had a weekend filled with running two and fro, being busy, rolling grape leaves, watching some rock, missing some hiphop, searching for a decent mojito(not an easy quest in Pittsburgh, of course, unless one is at home), eating Indian buffet, serving drinks to the drunken artcrowd masses, serving vegetarian greek food to not many masses at all, and laying in bed watching FOX. I just discovered that although FOX in Pittsburgh is channel 53, on my TV it comes in clear as a bell on channel 109. Crazy, no? But once I discovered that all I could think about was my opportunity to watch The Simpsons and King of the Hill. So after the poorly attended(but still fun, and kick ass!) greek brunch, I went home and ordered some pizza and coca cola and settled down for some TV. It was great. There was lots of hipster entertainment going on, but I just could not be bothered. It turns out that the one guy I REALLY wanted to see (Damo Suzuki) got deported anyways, so I do not feel that I missed much. (I am not going to try to explain why I don't really care about Sonic Youth. I would not kick them out of my stereo, but neither am I going to go out of my way to sit in a sea of cellphone users under the blistering sun to "see" them) I am glad I was able to enjoy television instead.

This week is going to be lots of sitting in the bookstore, and hopefully some evening fun. Tomorrow night is the much anticipated supper club at the quiet storm, where I plan to play my ELO albums and enjoy tofu meatballs. Wednesday night I am hoping to go to my friend's house and buy a laptop through her good graces. Thursday night I will hopefully make it to Rosebud to see Ricardo Lemvo and Makina Loca. Friday is going to be a soulkiss of alternative music, featuring Shopping and the Working Poor at the QS. Life is good. See you tomorrow.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com