Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

9/02/2003

Did not stay in bed all day yesterday, although I might as well have. All valiant intentions to do laundry were cast by the wayside by the miserable weather, so instead we ate waffles and played board games. First was BIBLEOPOLY! which was fun but will definitely be better with more people. It involves becoming the "caretaker" of various Bible cities and then you get to build a church on one of them. Your playing piece is a steeple. It's cute. There isn't very much Bible-learnin involved, except that there is a card where if you can not recite John 3:16 you have to go back a bunch of spaces. But still, it was fun and pretty fast paced.

Secondly we played PAYDAY!, which was very different from how I remembered it. This is a great game to distribute to communist societies we have recently "capitalized"( I guess the official term has something to do with Democracy, but we all know what that means don't we?) It carries the message that PAYING BILLS IS FUN! The money is all very cool colors, which I remembered, and the junk mail you occasionally get is really funny. Again, I think it would probably be more fun with more people to play poker and such.

And then, my children, we broke out the Pente. I don't think I mentioned the fact that I got pente at the thriftstore but rest assured, it is the best game on earth. And it is thousands of years old. It's so simple--just a grid of squares and a bunch of rocks--but it is thoroughly compelling. My highschoolbuddy has a set and we would play it for hours at the laundrymat and sitting around the house. It's totally addictive, but it depends on having a partner who is pretty much equally matched strategy-wise. It took my honeygirl about three games to catch up to me, and then we were playing the kind of no holds barred pente I remembered. It was exhilirating.

The weather finally cleared up and we made another valiant effort at laundry. We loaded the truck up with the laundry, and we started to drive to Oakland, but it started to rain again. So we made the switch to the old Buick so that the laundry would be enclosed, and we stopped at what used to be Charlie's (now it is Mitchell's Grill, and they have papered over Arlo Guthrie with stupid Grateful Dead posters. WHY?)

for burgers. The rain had stopped by the time we were done(they also were playing 105.9 the X. Why god why??)

so we drove over to the laundrymat and it was CHOCK FULL OF COLLEGE STUDENTS. I was pissed, because everyone knows that on a long holiday weekend you take your laundry home to your mom. There is something wrong with today's college students. So we came home and played some more pente and went to bed. Now it is officially day 5 of trying to do the laundry, and we have to stop at nothing. It is desperate.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com