Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Monday, Oct. 06, 2003

Good morning campers!

ROCKTOBER is off to a fantastic start! The second wedding was as wonderful as I imagined it would be. Perhaps even more wonderful. Perhaps even more wonderful BECAUSE the weather was sketchy and so we had to resort to plan B, wherein the ceremony and eating happened inside instead of out in the park. The most gorgeous autumnal fairytale wonderland was created in the huge lodge, with pumpkins and gauze and dried cornstalks and candles. People brought so much food and everyone pitched in to help make things more beautiful. It was my third favorite wedding ever, after my own and my sissy's, both of which were also completely friend-powered. I think if you are going to go to the trouble of having a wedding, you should definitely have it be a coming together of all your friends to help out and show love for the couple. That's the (REALLY) traditional way, after all, and that is what makes the day special for everyone.

We on the food management team really worked our asses off in the cold cold cold, but got to enjoy ourselves some too, and were innundated with both compliments and offers of assistance. And somehow although it ended up being a longer day, and almost twice as many people and a whole lot more to deal with, I was not nearly so weary afterward.

Which meant that I cheerfully attended anniversary brunch with Herbie. We had some delicious breakfast burritos and were very gratified with the work done by our new brunch STAFF. (hee hee)

Then I napped a bit, and then my honeygirl came over and we went out to Rt 51 for thrift shopping. I was in a mood to acquire sweaters.

And acquire I did, friends. I got NINE sweaters for under $36---and not one of them is black. A few of them are in the tan/brown spectrum, which genuinely surprised me. My fall wardrobe usually evolves organically---this year it seems to be about grays, blues, and browns. A few of the sweaters are serious BRAND NAME jobbies(like the knobby Eddie Bauer beauty I am wearing right now) and they were all $3.99. I love America.

After the success of Goodwill(where I have to say I am pleased that we arrived only 1/2 hour before closing time, so I was not able to peruse everything---I am sure I would have spent my rent money in that place!) we continued on to Gabriel Brothers, where the word of the day was Comfy Jammies. I got two pairs of comfy jammy pants, and three comfy jammy shirts, again for the low low price of $35. And I am talking NAUTICA here, people. I am such a pimp.

So I'm feeling fully armed against the onslaught of chilly weather, and I have made a promise to myself to wear skirts and tights as much as possible this fall and winter. I'll keep you appraised of my progress.

Now it's time to get the Led out, create a brunch menu, and perhaps dye my hair. And yes, I suppose I need to deal with the boxes of catering apparatus in my kitchen. Sigh. Where's that houseboy when you really need him?

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com