Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Friday, Nov. 07, 2003

Lordy lordy!

Just back from a very expensive and heavy shopping trip to the giant eagle. The expense coming mostly from a bunch of frozen veggies and fruits, adn the heft from several pounds of squashes. (suddenly, although it is only one week since Halloween, there are NO PUMPKINS anywhere. So my Native American pumpkin dish is going to have to be made with acorns and these cute little squashes called something like "golden nugget". They look a little like mini pumpkins, but aren't.)

I am now enjoying my first maple leaf of the season. It is a lot stronger than I remembered--don't know if that's because I made it with Canadian Club instead of Elijah, or if it's because I didn't measure anything. In any case, it is damn yummy.

Spent the whole day in my official fall hippie/stevie nicks get up---black tights, long dress, wooly sweater, neck scarf and black velvet hat. AND practically new birkenstock London shoes. Practically new, she says? Did she really pay $160 for them?

Ah, no. She got them at the Red White and Blue on Rt 51. For $8.00. She is gloating, let me tell you.

Yesterday was a thrift store day, and the major finds were the abovementioned shoes, an absolutely gorgeous charcoal grey Banana Republic sweater, several floaty dresses, and an LL Bean thermal turtleneck. And also a knife block which fits most of my knives for less than a buck. I can not believe my good fortune. I guess that is the payoff for not being able to spend any money for so long.

So, my honeygirl and I keep running into snags in our desire to go to Cleveland for a weekend getaway and visit Alice Cooper's restaurant and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum. I have possible catering jobs for the next two weekends, and she is projecting for the film festival. We'll get it worked out, hopefully before it snows too much. Sigh. I thought getting out of the corporate grind was going to mean being able to travel whenever I wanted? So far, not happenin.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com