Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Monday, Dec. 15, 2003

Next step in the Christmasization of my house: baking! Last night I sat around in the jammies I had on all day and made a list of cookies I want to make. Today I will make a list of ingredients I need to get and then this week will be baking frenzy 2003. Bring it on!

Also, in pusuit of odd foods last night, I found a recipe for Velveeta Peanut Butter fudge. OF COURSE I have to try it. It sounds so odd, and yet, I'm sure it is somehow magical. I am all about the food alchemy, as you well know.

So, there was Friday night with the rock---it was very cold, and yet many of us huddled outside shivering and smoking. You just can't really enjoy the rock without the smoke, I don't think. So first up was the premier of 109 Starchild Ave, which was a little bleepy bloopy(tm Jilly!) but had the tribal drum pounding to hold it down. It made me quite proud to see a young lady standing behind a floor tom and banging her guts out while boys flailed away at guitars all around her. The bambam drum agenda(tm Anita!) was in full force.

The middle band made me very sleepy. They sound exactly like the kind of music I put on when I want to go to sleep. In the interim I had some cigarettes and talked to some cool people outside. Including one fellow I've known forever who is undergoing an amazing transformation---Atkins and curly hair growing. He is quite the charmer when he wants to be, and he was laying it on thick that night. I am sure he is going to be maximum ladykiller in no time.

Then was Lorelei, and dangnubit, I am going to miss them! They really put on an experience with the red lights and the low sounds. I got to hear them play my favorite song (which apparently is called "Joan Jett") before I fell asleep head down on the table in the back of the room. I was collected and taken home to bed, for my own good.

Saturday I had a button making appointment with the LUPEC ladies at the home of Ms Finger, which is extremely covetous. Oh my---an open plan apartment with a big ole galley kitchen and very high ceilings. Considering how most of my furniture is shelving, I would be so happy in a place like that. And plus, it's right across the street from the Sharp Edge. Heaven. We made some buttons and then we got tired of it and went for food. I had a delicious blue cheese and bacon burger(my signature burger for 2003!) and two Mackisons. I was feeling nice! On the way to Penn ave to get a bus home I discovered where Amber and St Clair streets are---home of many cheap apartments I have been eyeing in the classifieds and craigslist. Also within walking distance to the sharp edge, not to mention the quiet storm, the east liberty presbyterian church, and whole foods. I think it is my destiny.

Then it was home to get gussied up for TRUEPALS2003 dance party. I went full on with the extreme cleavange lace shirt, the black tuxedo pants, the iced out star necklace and earrings, and the big hair and black eye makeup. I was feeling festive. I listened to a lot of glam rock while waiting for Herbie to pick me up. We got there early, and were treated to lots of tales of party preparation from the housemates. More and more people showed up and finally the dance party kicked in and was oldskool and dancehall mania. The boys of the house really held it down, and people filtered up and down the stairs. At several points the basement was FULL and totally kickin. At some points there was barely anyone dancing, but those who were showed extreme dedication. I got to work it out jamaican style with my fave boy to some dance hall numbers. It was the most satisfying aroebic exercise you can imagine! I danced a bit with the kentucky sweetheart in the gorgeous brown suit, and I shared champagne with the crazy kid who I don't think stopped breakdancing all night long. What a bundle of champagne fueled energy! It was a super dance party. I'll bet it went on a lot longer than the 2am we finally left, just as the blizzard was begining.

So yesterday was in bed all day day. Seriously, after getting up for a gingerale at about 9am, I did not get out of bed until 3. WOW! My honeygirl got up at one point and made waffles and I did not even know. She brought me breakfast in bed and then we tried to watch Yellow Submarine, but fell asleep again. Hee hee! The best snow day ever. I did finally get up and do some dishes, so the day was not a total wash.

And now I have that spirit more than ever---ready to wrap some presents and get some ingredients for cookies and start baking madly. Fa la la la la.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com