Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2003

It's the day before the night before christmas! My house smells like bayberry(from candles) and sage sausage(from breakfast). Today I am going to go downtown to deposit a check and get my dad a bottle of good scotch, and then come home and make more rumballs and perhaps some chocolate chip cookies with things in them(crystalized ginger and peppermint pieces)(two different batches, even I am not so avant as to put peppermint and ginger in the same cookie)(also I am not so avant as to make an appetizer composed of chunks of avocado rolled in crushed potato chips and russian dressing, which is something my sister was served by her girlfriend's dad on Thanksgiving) AND THEN I am going to do some laundry. I seriously have no clean underwear left except for two thongs, and I am NOT goign to wear a thong on Christmas. It's just not right.

I am truly looking forward to going to church tonight in my green velvet Christmas dress. I haven't been to Christmas church since I was married, and I am really excited about it. I was telling my pops yesterday on the phone that I was going to Christmas church and he said "Is this really MY daughter?" and I said "Don't worry dad, it's barely church at all." I mean, it IS, but it's not the sort of Christian experience one might expect.

Actually, I have NO IDEA what it will be like, to be honest. It isn't a real Taize service, it's going to be in the Big Sanctuary where I have only ever been for the women's toning ritual. But there will be candles and singing and bells and smells, as they are fond of saying in the liturgical community, and an extremely diverse community of folks coming together to celebrate the season, and I think it will do my soul some good.

And there's gonna be SNOW! And tomorrow I'm going to get picked up by my dad(a Christmas miracle if there ever was one!) and taken to Dormont to make scalloped potatoes and green bean casserole, and have Christmas ham and exchange presents and hang with the family.

And then Friday and Saturday is going to be all about making stuff for a big catering gig, and another Christmas miracle is that I DON'T have to make deviled eggs after all. I like making them, don't get me wrong, but it is such a production that whenever someone orders them for a catering job I get bent out of shape. But she decided to go for the shrimp fritters instead, bless her heart, so I am out of the weeds.

And I just have to mention, I got a heartwarming email last night, from my favorite boy, asking me for the recipe for the lemon basil cookies. The thought of him making lemon basil cookies for his family at Christmas just makes me smile.

Here's wishing you lots of heartwarming moments at Christmastime. It's been a good year!

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com