Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Thursday, Feb. 19, 2004

Sorry about the abandonment! Honestly, this transition is not going the way I thought it would. Which was, get up super early, make the breakfast for the people, clean up, and get out by 11:30am with a full afternoon to do internet, look at apartments, wash the dishes and laundry, throw things out, pack, make a healthy dinner for myself, and possibly watch a little TV before going to sleep.

Instead, I have been doing the getting up super early and making the breakfast and cleaning up parts, but then there always seem to be other things to do at the Quizzle or elsewhere, and I have not been accomplishing much of the rest of that list. The laundry IS done, I am pleased to say. Well, a lot of the laundry is done. The crucial laundry is done. And put away, and the rest of the laundry has been packed into bags to either get done or get shuffled off to a new spot. I will accept laud.

A lot of the dishes have been put into the dishwasher, but there is a sinkful of non dishwashery things that need to be attended to TONIGHT so I don't have to think about the fact that they have been sitting in the sink for an entire week. Ewww.

The dishes in the sink are the result of my smashbang catering on Saturday for an art opening at the bottom of my stairs.(there is a gallery literally right next to my apartment building, and a good friend of mine had a group show open on Valentine's day)I whipped together hummus and atichoke dip and veggie dip and cheese and onion skewers and a veg tray and chips and pita in the space of about 4 hours. And then I made it pretty in pink and purple bowls, and I looked at the art which was all very beautiful, and then my honeygirl and I headed out for our pimpy dinner. We intended to go to mallorca, but they didn't take reservations and when we got over there people were lining up IN THE PARKING LOT, so we kept driving, trying to come up with a second choice. Eventually we decided on the Green Forest, or as it is commonly known amongst our carnivorous friends, "the neverending meat restaurant." We were not at all disappointed by the meat, but we were slightly disappointed by the service. As in, we didn't get any. We had to beg for water and then wait over an hour for our check (no coffee or dessert was offered, either) when we were done. But we'll go back. Believe me.

And before the whole Valentine's thing, there was the Science Fiction Idols, Breakup Society, and Cynics thing at the Rex. Man oh man, that was a full night of rock and yeungling black and tans for me! All the bands were excellent, but I have to say that the most enjoyable part for me was getting to see the Cynics with room to move and breathe around me. Michael still crawls around like he is an 18 year old. I love that guy. And Smith just SMOKES on the bass--both figuratively and literally. And, crikey! Before the show we had dinner at Taco Loco. My carne asada made me swoon. I can't wait to be able to go for the lunch buffet sometime.

Jumping back out of time, Sunday was the Dutch specialty brunch and we got our asses kicked by it. Everything was delicious, and we started out grooving along, but then we got hit by two giant tables in a row and then it was impossible to catch up. And oh--we served over 100 people, and turned away nearly half that many. Somethin's gotta give, man. So we are instituting host shifts and half hourly seatings to try to deal with it. I'll keep you posted.

Breakfast trundles on---I am getting better at it. I have my actual prep down to a science so now I can do specials and extra cleaning and prep for the lunch shift. Yesterday I made another extremely yummy batch of waffles---these are wheat free 7 grain with oatmeal and brown sugar. I think it must be the combination of rice flour and oatmeal that give them a sort of crunchy, chewy sweethess that is irresistable. To me anyway. This morning I also had an Eggs Italia special with eggs and spinach and marinara(using up the marinara from pasta night last night)on sundried toast with melted moz cheese. I had one order of it all the way until 11am and I was sad, and then right at the end I got THREE MORE. Whoo! It's starting to seem like maybe we should keep doing breakfast till 11:30 and then start lunch. We'll see. People don't seem to be able to get out of bed in time to eat.

The apartment hunt is going slowly because I keep putting it on the back burner. Tuesday, though, I walked around the neighborhood and wrote some phone numbers down. Have yet to call any, but I have myself half way convinced that I don't want to start looking until I have the money to put down a security deposit. Which should be within the next couple of days, if my online tax preparation service is to be believed. My fingers are so crossed. In any case I should have my last check from the bookstore in a day or two and then I can get crackin. In the meantime,I am trying to throw things away, and organize other things into categories like "don't need, but don't want to thow away", "give to X", and "absolutely can not live without". It's slow going.

Today would have been apartment hunting day but I had a suprise lunch with T at the Pleasure Bar in Bloomfield(all you can eat lunch buffet for $6.95!! Delish!) and then a trip to Whole Foods so she could get some andouille sausages. I of course walked out of there with a $7.00 slab of Perrano which is calling to me right now. I can not wait to make some kind of pasta so I can put the cheese on there. I also got a star fruit and blood orange as vanity garnish for breakfast plates. I have taken to being very vain about the appearance of my breakfast plates--to the point where I really should take a camera in there to capture the moment. The star fruit is a delicious fruit, but it is an even more delicious garnish. Yum.

Ack! Enough with the prattle.I'll try to be a little more consistent.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com