Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Friday, May. 07, 2004

Sweet Patunias! It's been a long time. I just really don't know how the time flies by so fast anymore. I guess it's advancing age and constant busy-ness.

In any case, today I joined the "space race" as a good friend reportedly called the legions of cellphone operators. My restaurant partner got a new plan which offered a free extra phone and sharing, so he gave the second phone to me. Along with free night and weekend minutes, oh boy.

The phone is small and cute and flippy, and it is a Motorola so it has an M emblazoned on the front that looks an awful lot like the batman logo. So of course I am totally going to call it the batphone---as if I wasn't going to already.

I spent the afternoon becoming aquainted with its features. There are a lot of them, some of them useful and some of them the kind of obvious technology glut that makes me hate cell phones and computers in the first place. I think I have raged in here before about how Americans have too much choice---do I really need eight different ways to scroll through my phonebook? I don't think so. Do I really need twelve different ways to close a window on my computer? No. Do I really need eighteen different varieties of corn flakes, all with exactly the same ingredients? Decidedly not. I think this is our country's problem--we're spoiled brats. (at least those of us who can afford the luxury of choice, which I am certainly aware is not everyone)

Speaking of choice, I just got an alert from Planned Parenthood that the FDA has decided that emergency contraception can not be available over the counter. I have not investigated their reasons very closely, so I am shooting off at the mouth here, but this really smacks of War on Women to me. You say you want to stop abortions, but you don't want to let women take active steps in preventing the unwanted pregnancies in the first place? So what you are really saying is you want to punish women for wanton sexuality, isn't it? You creeps.

(the previous comment is addressed to all the anti-abortion conservative assholes who read my diary. I know you're out there)

Tomorrow is the big voter registration action day, and I am not taking part because I have some shopping and cooking to do. However, I am very proud to say that I convinced a young person at the QS to register to vote the other day, and I sat there and watched him fill out the form. So I have done 1/10 of my part. I do plan to get myself a stack of registration forms to keep on my person for the upcoming social season--I figure my most effective plan of attack is to casually bring up voting at rock concerts and beer parties and when someone admits to not being registered, I can whip out a form and a pen on the spot. And then as the actual voting time approaches, I will get more and more serious. I will hound my new participants in democracy and make sure they do the right thing. I'll load up on printer ink and arm everyone I know with the pro-choice voter's guide.

I really truly am honest to goodness hopeful that we can win in November. If things keep going down hill at the rapid clip they are approaching these days, it will be a no-brainer. At least I think so.

In other news, the hunt for a new apartment continues to be slow going. Now that I have a CELL PHONE, though, I will be able to engage in spontaneous apartment hunting, as in, walking down the street and calling numbers as I see them posted on signs. I think I will have found a place by June 1st. That is my target, and it would be very fitting for me to be cooking for a wedding and trying to move into a new apartment all at the same time. That's the way we do it around these parts. Wish me luck, anyways.

Whew! That was linky. And speaking of linky: HAPPY MARRIAGE!!!!

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com