Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Friday, Jun. 04, 2004

I am midstream in cubano madness, having a little iced coffee and cigarette break. The cubano sandwiches are definitely one of the pimpiest things on our catering menu, and this is only the second time I have actually made them. Which is a really, really fine thing, because they are a horror. Very labor and patience intensive. First I have to roast the pork with a garlic and oregano and cumin rub(this time, I used rum and triple sec and lemon juice as the liquids, and I am not sorry) Then the assemblage--honey mustard on both slices of pepperidge farm very thin white bread, followed by thin slices of smoked ham, thin slices of dill pickle, swiss cheese, and the pork. Then the little guys get smooshed in the sandwich press. Then I wait for 3-4 minutes, and then I have to dig the melty mess out of the press and cut each one into fours. I think, the next time someone wants me to make these, I am going to try to get a loaf of very thin bread with a larger circumference. It seems that the pepperidge farm bread is a little too small and so the stuff leaks out and sticks to the sandwich press, neccessitating the aforementioned digging. A larger slice of bread would form a better seal, I think. We'll see. It doesn't really matter if the little cubanos are messy--they are DAMN GOOD. I am going to make a bunch of extras for free just because they are so good that I know the catering staff are going to be digging in.

One thing that is making the catering go smoothly is that I went through all of my cassette tapes last night. That's a lot of tapes, and I was pleasantly surprised at some of the stuff I found. I started off boxing and labelling all the unboxed and unlabeled tapes, but that would have taken until 3am. So I just sorted through and tossed the ones that were unidentified or that I didn't want, and made all the rest fit into five file box lids. In the process, though, I found a lot of old favorites that I had forgotten I had. Including Trance Planet which was my first world music compilation. And a compilation I presciently made of Tricky, as if I somehow knew all my Tricky CDs would one day be stolen by the heroin addict my roomate hired to clean the house. These are the kinds of sounds I will want to fill my new apartment. Once I am finally there. And all moved in. Which should be early next week, goddess willing. I am hoping that I will see lots of friends at the wedding tomorrow and talk them in to coming over to move some stuff when they recover from their wedding hangovers. Please wish me luck.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com