Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Wednesday, Jun. 30, 2004

Whee!

June has officially flown by in a flurry of moving and catering and breakfasting and bookstore-ing. And now it is practically July, and time for MEGA CONCERT SEASON. MCS will kick off this Friday at the Storm with Beam, and then continue on Saturday with Rebecca Gates and the Working Poor, and then really kick into high gear on Sunday with KISS and POISON. I am really beside myself with excitement about spending my 4th of July eve rockin out on the lawn to dulcet tones of Brett Michaels and Gene Simmons. Yesterday I took the afternoon off the bookstore to do some errands, chief among them getting my tickets to the KISS and POISON show. I went to Kaufmann's Ticketmaster counter to get them, and the nice older African American woman working there said "Oh, you're going to have a good fourth. Good and loud." Rock on, nice lady! While there I ended up getting Hillary's book, since they have a bookstore up there on the 9th floor of Kaufmann's and it was on sale. And then I turned around and saw that they have a DELI COUNTER on the 9th floor of Kaufmann's also. A deli counter, in the same store where you can get shoes and purses and Clinique bonus prizes. Whoda thunkit?

Today I had to go back to the bookstore and I was really cranky about it, so I decided to take myself out to dinner and then church. I went to the newly established Red Room, which I unfortunately can not recommend. It was pretty enough in a sort of old boys club maroon walls and leather sofas kind of way, and I got some great bread and rosemary infused butter and a glass of petit sirah, which is always a treat. But the salad of three tomatoes and asparagus tips and arugula in a garlic vinaigrette was just okay, and the ceviche of scallops and shrimp was just not so good. And really freakin tiny for $11. I witnessed the $23 portion of blackberry barbequed salmon and I have to say that was pretty tiny too. And plus, the waiter was really kinda snooty. I guess it's good that someone is trying a "fine dining concept" in East Liberty, but I was hoping for something a little more folksy and welcoming. I totally should have gone for the Ethiopean. Ah well.

Church, however, was awesome. It turned my mood right around. The walk home, although painful for the bottom of my feet in my new strappy sandals, was very pleasant and invigorating. And I got home to a really cool buddha card with a LETTER inside from J*. Life is good. And gettin better all the time.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com