Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

February 20, 2003

Here's a dillema:

For the past 6 years, I have had for my birthday party a huge event called the Rickety New Wave Cabaret.

When it started, on my 30th birthday, it was a sorta smallish event tacked on to a Rickety Tuesday at the Tobacco Roadhouse. I think there were maybe 7 or 8 acts---I can not remember all of it, but I know it was fab. We had a keyboard shaped cake and lots of costumes and everyone danced and had a great time.

Over the next couple of years, it got bigger and bigger. Three years at the 31st street pub, topping the occupancy mark, lots of costumes and dancing. Various hosts and contests and several bands making their debut, I think.

Two years ago, it became too big for its britches and we moved it to the Beehive in Oakland. To make the move, we had to move it temporally as well, and it was no longer near my birthday.

That seemed like an ideal solution, because you could drink and dance. Turned out to be pretty poorly managed, and some of the bands did not get to play. This made me really sad, and I started to question if I wanted it to go on.

Last year, I was pretty much over it. Real busy, and in a totally different head space, and with a lot of other things going on in my life. I was going to let it go, and then another fellow called me and convinced me that it HAD to happen. We could collaborate, he said.

So we collaborated, and it became a two night affair, and in some ways it was cool but in a lot of ways it was a big hassle for me. It was really far removed from my birthday, and I felt obligated to host and especially the second night, there was some real prima donna behavior that went totally contrary to what the New Wave Cabaret had been all about.

That brings us to this year. I knew there was no way I could throw it together for my birthday---I am just far far far far far too busy with all the things going on. But I had planned to throw an old skool cabaret, at the pub hopefully, sometime in April, when things calmed down. I had planned to make it like in the early days---mostly a whole lot of FUN for everybody, and not a big starmaker opportunity and CERTAINLY not a way for anyone to get rich. It is about dressing up, dancing, eating cake, and having fun.

So I have been casually spreading the word among the masses, to keep on the lookout. When all of a sudden, I get a phone call this morning to let me know that there has been a listing for THE NEW WAVE CABARET submitted to one of the local papers.

Whaaaa???

Turns out, the fellow I collaborated with last year has just decided that he is going to do it this year, without even calling me.

I think that is SO LAME.

I am certainly not interested in collaborating with him, and I am sure he realized that, but he really should have at least called me, dontcha think?

I sent out a little tersely worded damage control email, to let people know(especially the people to whom I had mentioned my intentions) that this was NOT the cabaret I had mentioned. This cabaret is an imposter!

Here is the dillema part: should I actively go after the guy and confront him? It's not like I really have a copyright or anything...but I have been doing it for 6 years and it has always been MY birthday bash.

Please let me know what you think via the guestbook.

xxoo

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com