Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

August 21, 2003

Have you ever encountered a frozen egg?

Frozen eggs are funny.

Last night I decided, after I finally got home from the bookstore(I was supposed to be able to leave early, but after we realized that there had to be a bank run, which nowadays means WALKING to the bank because the college will no longer pay for armored car service, I ended up staying until almost 5:30) that I would have myself a cheddar omelet for dinner. I went into the kitchen and got my big stainless bowl and my big nonstick pan and I commenced to breaking eggs into the bowl while the butter was melting in the pan and ......crack, crack, but no liquid coming out. I finally managed to coax all of the frozen egg parts into the bowl and then attacked them with the hand blender. It was just silly. The whites had gone completely missing (just lumps of ice) and the yolks were all firm and yet spongy. But I perservered, and I had my omelet and a glass of chardonnay and read a little of The Debt To Pleasure and...fell asleep. Dammit. So I did not get all the things done last night that I had planned, because whenever I fall asleep on the couch I wake up feeling so TERRIBLE that I just have to slink off to bed. And then when I got in bed I switched on TV to lull myself to sleep and tried to watch some of the PBS documentary on Elvis's love of gospel music(they presented it as if it was a secret that no one knows. Which is just silly. I mean, anyone with even a cursory appreciation of Elvis knows that he made several albums of gospel and always performed gospel songs in concert. What's not to know?) It was good, and I appreciated being able to see live concert footage that I had not seen before, and it is always nice to hear the Jordanaires. But I was not able to make it all the way through because it was part of one of those global PBS pledge drives that piss me the hell off. I don't mind a pledge drive with my local PBS people hanging out and trying to get me to give $$. But I don't know where they get these people to do the global ones. They all suck. And they kept saying stupid stuff about how remarkable and totally revealing a glimpse into Elvis' private life this doc was. Give me a break.

Anyway, I drifted off to sleep and when I woke up around 6am I switched on the TV to try to get jumpin.

And there, for all to see, were THE GOO GOO DOLLS. Singing to Elmo. It was that song "Slide" but the words were changed to make it more Elmo-specific: "Pride." All about how Elmo tied his shoes and helped his mom make a pie. The Goo Goo Dolls were all really excited about how Elmo could do these things. I switched it off and went back to sleep, thinking that it must be indigestion. But now, I am pretty sure it was real. I wonder if there is some sort of website listing all the bizarre guest stars on Sesame Street?

In other news, it is Robert Plant's birthday today. Although I have recently remarked about how terrible he looks these days, I still love him with all my heart and soul. (not as much as Jimmy, but as much as a girl loves the differently haired sidekick of whatever heartthrob she loves) I hope Percy has a great one today. I will do my part to celebrate him by listening to Slow Dancer really loud.

I was going to remark about how hopefully this can be a first volley in my attempt to get the new guy downstairs to vacate so my friend can move in, but the new guy does not seem to actually be there. His ugly furniture is there, but I have seen no trace of an actual guy. Maybe it is just a front.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com