Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2004

Dang! Where did those last six days go?

Into a black hole of busyness, that's where. Friday night was the LUPEC Butch/Femme Party at Eon Grille and Hotel, which I still don't like any better than the first time I was there. Despite the fact that the party was fun and well attended and there was a cheesily awesome DJ spinning 80's dance music which turned the bar into a queer and queer friendly dance party. I also got flirted with by an older lesbian, which was fun but also sad. I felt really bad for her when we were talking about Bloomer's and she said that she really doesn't have anywhere she can go and feel that comfortable now. CJ's is okay, but it is definitely a very different vibe from the slightly earthy crunchy dykey vibe of Bloomer's. They were just as likely to play Ferron as Melissa Ethridge(this was 1989, ok?) and women could just come and drink or have dinner and talk to each other. CJ's is a kinda hardcore dance/mack spot. But speaking purely self-obsessedly, it was cool to get hit on by an older lesbian. Just checkin the market value, yo.

Saturday was a catering gig where we had to butler appetizers to old people at a 60 year old's surprise birthday party. It was at the Mt Nebo Grange, which seems to be what other people might call a VFW or Bingo hall or something. It ended up being more fun than we anticipated, and it's always nice to get a lot of oohs and ahhs and that was so delicious-s. Afterwards we were determined to have dinner at some chain restaurant on McKnight Road, which ended up being a bad idea. It was Saturday night, and all the people in the North Hills were filling up the chain restaurants because they don't have televisions at home on which to watch the basketball games(I'm guessing) We finally ended up at Chili's which was a mistake because we both ordered burgers even though they refuse to cook them rarer than medium. I choked mine down, Herbie couldn't do it. The southwestern egg rolls were pretty good though.

Sunday was the Women's History Brunch, and it was a very lovely one indeed. All the food was great, there was a super crowd but it never got to be too much. We stopped the orders one time but only for about 10 minutes as had just gotten a table of 8. The LUPEC ladies had a nice time hostessing and handing out LUPEC propaganda, and a lot of good friends came out for it. AND it was sunny. I remember the sun.

Then on Monday I went and had dinner at Spice Island with my highschool buddy---I had the banana leaf salmon which was good but probably not the best choice. Why I didn't go for the yellow curry I'll never know. The shrimp-corn fritters, however, were transcendent. I love them. After our meal we still wanted to talk and we wanted a drink but we didn't want to be jostled and robbed by Hemmingway's. We were walking along and made the spontaneous decision to go to Cumpies. This place used to be the Frog Pond, and the Next Decade, and the Decade. It looks basically the same, but it smelled a lot like puke. Too bad. We got a jack and coke(for her) and a yeungling draft(for me) and it was $4.25. Woohoo! So we had several more rounds, and sat at a table in the back where there were no other people. It was pleasant enough(didn't smell so bad back there) and we were left totally alone. I got wasted, and then when I got home I got sick. Which is to be expected drinking draft beer at a place like that, for $1.00 a pint no less. But all in all a good evening.

Yesterday I bit the bullet and went to Whole Foods for fruit(where I ran into the magical fruit man, who fed me pummelo and organic grape tomatoes)and perrano, and then downtown in the snow and ice storm to deposit my check. And then, by the time I got home, I was spent and feeling a little sick, so I decided not to go to Supper Club. Which bummed me out, because I really wanted to go, but spending more time waiting for buses was not in the program. This morning's breakfast was fun, and now I'm going back for more in the form of PASTA NIGHT. Laundry tomorrow. Make it so.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com