Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-10-19

Here's something that may alienate you---I LOVE Elton John's new album. Elton figures very prominently in my musical and social and romantic development, and I stuck with him for a lot longer than most people. All the way through THE FOX, actually(which I think is a brilliant album. It has a couple of my all time favorite songs on it. But chances are YOU have never even heard about it.)That was 1981. I think I may have actually owned some later ones also, but I have not loved anything since THE FOX. Except the Elton John AIDS foundation, I have loved that. This new album has all the old stuff---its got Bernie, and Davy and Nigel. Some of these songs could be off of EMPTY SKY. I'm not making any new fans here, am I? You all think Elton is crap. Well, I challenge you to give this album a listen. Elton knows his way around crap, but he also knows how to make a person cry with sentimental joy.

I guess that's why they call it the blues.

OK, enough maudlin. Last night I went back to make a scene for four hours. It was fantastic. I got to sit at the desk with a really cool boy, and we joked and had fun all night. The women who are running the scene were all tired and slap happy---it was a great fun community feeling. Lots of the art has changed incredibly in the 6 days since I was there last. I was terribly sad that Gabriel's room is destroyed--I mean, he did it, it was all part of the plan, but it was the most soothing wonderful place and now all the plaster is gone from the walls and all the books are charred and the candles are burt down. It's process, it's about change and decay. Not among my favorite things.....Lukas's room(the brilliant blue one) is even more gorgous, with gold leaf on the walls and slate on the floors and plaster casts of bejewelled women's torsos. It didn't take me long at all to decide that I AM going to go back on Saturday to see the performances and the final stages of the rooms.

Then J* came and I got to show her around, and we explored all sorts of things and we stood in the community paint room for a long time, trying to figure out what it was that the tempera paint smelled like. It never came to her.

Then it was downstairs for the hiphop! Not only hiphop, real scratching. Serious DJ stuff. The stuff I have only even seen on TV. And then---BREAKDANCING! Serious breakin, boys SPINNING ON THEIR HEADS. Oh yes they were! It was incredible. I didn't stay too long because I was still technically working and I wanted to give my buddy at the desk a break. So I hung with the cop for a while, and two of my goofy band boy friends came and were entertaining all of us sitting at the table. All in all a great although extremely long night.

And TONIGHT---out till all hours again, at the instantaneous waterheater and viragos show. Sheesh. It will be fun though and filled up with cool people. And beer!

crying for the moon they think I'm mad

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com