Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

January 29, 2002

Not much to report from the front lines today, I am afraid.

Suddenly I am already planning the WEEKEND and crikey, the weekend just ended. Things move fast around these parts.

Last night after work I bussed it down to SoufOaklan for beers and pizza(well, in her case, jack and coke) with my highschoolbuddy at the PHI. Again let me just say how much I love doing our classy lady thing at the diviest of dives. Frat central. It is great. OH! And I learned something there last night:

FRAT BOYS ARE ASSHOLES.

It was written on the bathroom wall. It must be true.

We talked and talked and then got on the bus we share and had a really sacriligious moment which kept getting worse despite ourselves. It was something about a Rod Stewart nude mass. I said noon mass, but I guess I had a cold. Anyway, it was bad. Bad as only your best friend from highschool could make it. I laughed all the way home.

When I got home I ate some chocolate chip cookies (thanks, spunky!) and watched THE TRUTH ABOUT CATS AND DOGS. I wanted to love this movie but I could not. I just can not accept the premise that someone as smart and together as Janeane Garafolo's character would suffer from such terrible body issues. And I also could not accept Uma Thurman, in this film, as the epitome of beauty. I know, I need to get out more, but it still does not ring true for me that smart women have such low self image or that someone who looks like Uma does in this film would have such an easy time of it. The only scene I really really liked was when they were in the mall and Abby was talking about how she could not understand why men were so hung up on looks and how if she was a man who was smart and funny like her she would have no problem finding a woman, and Noelle says "I'd fuck you" and it was very sweet. Other than that, the movie mad me uncomfortable and sad, even at the end when she really does get the guy.

Got a call from my honeygirl from the theater and I was so happy to hear her voice. Tee hee hee. I need to try to find a copy of Rubyfruit Jungle---probably not as easy as it once was.

Tonight I am hoping to go and see J* and listen to her new records and eat some lasagna and drink some wine and hear about her lalalaboyfriend weekend.

It feels so much like spring, and although I know it can't last, I sure am lovin it.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com