Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

Remember recently when I made the really unbelievable claim that I no longer rock? Remember how you shook your head and said "Nah, you are totally a rock star, party all night and still run a million dollar bookstore and catering business babe!" and discounted me? Well, last night into this morning proof of my claim was delivered.

I had a total of FOUR beers(none of them very strong either) and less than a pack of cigarettes, and some great rock which I enjoyed SITTING IN A FUCKING CHAIR IN AIR CONDITIONING, along with part of a giant plate of nachos, and I STILL feel like a total sack of shit wreck. I got four hours of sleep, which is not enough, obviously. But the ferocity with which I became a resident of hangover city astounded even me. I so don't rock.

But that's okay, because it looks like I am going to be able to move into my adorable floating island tiki bar apartment in a couple of weeks, provided that my current landlord doesn't say anything bad about me. I talked to him on the phone this morning to tell him that I was looking at places to move, and he reacted with total shock when I told him that my lease ran out in February and I had been month to month since then. He said that their records indicated that a renewal had been sent out in January, but must have gotten lost in the mail or something. Which is SO not my problem, dude. I told him that my main reason for moving was to be closer to work, but I also had some trouble with the new downstairs tenants. I also mentioned the fact that the detectives had come to visit me and I didn't really feel safe in my home anymore. He said that I should have called him right away and he would have looked into it(oh, yes, please call up the drug dealer downstairs and tell him that the girl upstairs with the malfunctioning lock on her door has been complaining about him!!), and also that the guy downstairs was not renewing his lease. Now, I don't know what kind of lease HE had, but the last three tenants there have been less than a year. So I am not going to suddenly feel bad that I am skipping out on this phantom lease that may or may not have been sent out in the first place. Sigh. The call ended pleasantly enough and he told me to just let him know if and when I plan to move and we'll work it out. I don't want to screw him over, because he has been a nice guy and I haven't had any real complaints about my living situation. I just think it is time for both of us to move on. This place really needs some major painting and repairing and although some of it is on account of my destructive former roomate and my own wear and tear after four years, a lot of it has to do with the fact that the place is just not really structurally sound.

So, hopefully in a couple of weeks the floating island tiki apartment will be mine. I have done so much mental furniture arranging since I saw it that I know it is the place for me. I timed myself walking from there to the QS and it is less than nine minutes, which is even SHORTER than my bus ride up the avenue is now. All kinds of cool stuff(WholeFoods, Giant Eagle, the church, the Sharp Edge, the Goodwill, etc...) are in easy walking distance. Many buses are also within reach, should I choose to NOT walk somewhere. Heck, there is even a branch of my bank(well, a drive up branch, but it has an ATM) a few blocks away. And did I mention laundry in the basement? Hee hee hee.

I think that kitty will come with me provisionally, and if she seems very miserable she will go and live chez Rickety. I feel bad thinking about leaving her cooped up all day in two rooms after the luxury of four rooms plus a porch that she has become used to. But the "cat deposit" is only $200, spread out in $25/mo increments. Ken, the nice fellow who showed me the place and to whom I told my life story today, said that it would be okay to have a trial run and if she didn't end up staying they would not charge me the whole thing. So that's a relief.

I would definitely miss kitty, but I would feel much better knowing she could roam free in the big house and outside if she chose. We'll see.

I'm really excited to start getting rid of many things. Many many many things. I really want to start my new life in my new place all fresh, without my usual clutter and piles of things. The aliens and the Alice Cooper dolls and the other various items are going to largely go into storage, I think. Time to grow up and take stock and, yes, I think it's time to be less kitchy.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com