Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-11-04

OK, time once again to wax rhapsodic about the gun show.

Really, those of you who know me realize that the gun show love is something I would not have predicted in myself.

But it is sort of like when you think you hate squid, and you spend your whole life thinking you hate squid, and then someone convinces you to taste squid and you think it is the most delicious thing you have ever had.

This is sort of what happened to me with guns.

Let me backtrack just a little, for those of you tuning in late in the game.

At some point last year, my favorite boy started to go to the shooting range to shoot guns. He has had a boyish fascination for guns his whole life, along with ants and ninjas and tools and the like. You get the picture. Anyhow, one night at the Goose he started to tell me how much he thought I would like shooting guns.

"oh, it's very sexy" he says to me with that little eyebrow raise and smirk.

I am trying with all my might to hold onto my convictions--GUNS ARE BAD.

but secretly, way down deep inside, I am thinking "I want to be Emma Peel.'

So guess what he says to me next?

"really, just imagine you are Emma Peel."

A-hem.

I still have not gone to the shooting range with him, but I have gone to the gun show twice.

The first time he got a nice shotgun for squirrel hunting.

This time he got an EXTREMELY SEXY black colt army revolver.

Let me just tell you that when he was picking up the gun and holding it, I had to look away. There is just something all too compelling about a man with a pistol.

So then he bought it, and then in the car he hands it to me in the bag so I can touch it. And I got the feeling which I imagined I would get, that feeling of absolute power and steely control. It is heady and pretty frightening. I like it too much.

I found the gun I wanted to buy but of course the gun I wanted to buy was $1,889.00 It is a colt 38 pistol, EL SOLDADO, spanish style with a mother of pearl handle and lots of fancy swirls on the stock, which is jet black. Ay-yi-yi. I did not want to touch it because there is no way in hell I am going to even contemplate buying a two thousand dollar pistol. But damn, was it pretty.

I think though that the next time I go to the gunshow(the weekend before my birthday) I am going to see if there is a less expensive pistol to make me happy. The man at the table who sold him his pistol case asked why we were not getting his and hers cases. I told him I did not yet have my gun, and my faveboy said "but she will."

Tee hee.

My filmmaking honeygirl who drove us out there to the gunshow was unable to get her gun(a baretta 9mm--oh my it was extremely gangsta looking and hot) because she has an Ohio license. Damn. So she got some bullets for her other gun and a wooden ninja fighting sword. I got a brass yes/no decision coin and a military insignia pin for the scottish force. It is very silver and shiny and I am going to pin it right on my black velvet hat. Faveboy also got a patch with a big lobster on it which he is going to attach to a baseball hat. The gunshow is good for all manner of things besides guns, including lots of goofy older men who are big flirts ,and gross hot sausage and meatball sandwiches with pepsi for too much money.

Then we went to the crazydrummer's place for ham and potatoes and beer. What a great day! It's still pretty early and I am not too tired. And I have a very vivid picture in my mind of a boy and his revolver. Sigh..

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com