Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-11-09

that damn scotsman put me through the emotional wringer!!

not only did he SING the "Loch Tay Boat Song", he OPENED with the loch tay boat song. So I was a weepy mess after only 4 minutes in the bar, and then he started talking and his accent made me feel all oozywoozy, and then he was HYSTERICALLY FUNNY, and I would laugh uproariously, and that was great, and then he would sing another song and make me weep again. Damn scotsmen. Can't trust em. He was very warm and personable and people were going up to him and talking to him but I can never talk to people I admire like that. So for me it was a lot like going to Richie Havens or Lawrence Raab, where just breathing the air of my heroes is enough and the fact that they all did exactly what I had come for.

My highschool buddy ended up coming with me for the maudlin adventure and she reminded me that I got the Silly Wizard record when we were working in the beer tent at the Scottish Games in Oberlin Ohio. We spent a summer living in this bizarre old woman's house while she traveled to Tibet or something, and we were conference associates which meant that we got to do things like hang out with Quakers and go to their past life regression meetings, and also we got to work in the beer tent at the Highland Games. See if you can imagine anything funnier than two teenage good girls who had never personally drunk beer before hanging out in a beer tent with a buch of randy scotsmen. Some of the nice randy scotsmen taught me how to pull a draught correctly so that it does not foam up too much. The randy scotsmen at the meat pie tent to our left traded us pies for beers. And then we got the record and we got some BIRD TREAT which we later used to terrorize my sister.

Oh, those were the days!

In that house there was a very peculiar set of serving dishes which contained sugar and cinnamon sugar. The dishes were shaped like elf heads, and you would remove their caps in order to dip in to the sugar. So we took to calling the cinnamon sugar ELF BRAINS, and we would regularly have elf brains on toast in the morning. My sister came to visit us several times despite this terrorism, where we made her eat elf brains on bird treat and walk around wearing the POPECOZY.

Also we made her eat the harmonic convergence cake, which was only slightly less revolting than the meaning of life cake we made while still in highschool. I do not remember the composition of the harmonic convergence cake, but the meaning of life cake was purple with green icing and decorated with little candy flowers, silver sugar balls, red sugar sprinkles, and a tennis player figurine.

It was hideous.

Those were indeed the days.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com