Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-11-23

Let's see....what can I remember from the Thanksgiving rocknroll lovefest?

happy laughing ride over with J*, talking about the GOOD LIFE; arriving at the host's house to a hug and kiss and fresh pot of coffee; sitting on the little loveseat, coffee and cigarettes, looking at movies, watching the parade, getting STAN dressed up in his POISON bandana; getting out tommy the turkey and rinsing him off and the host getting his latex gloves on ready to stick his hand up in there; almost peeing my pants and dropping the camera laughing so hard as he pulled out giblets and neck and we got so grossed out but it was REALLY FUNNY TOO; getting him in his pan and deciding not to bungeecord the oven shut!; busy busy getting things ready; cheese and crackers and celery with cream cheese to the tune of Nelly; J* and the first guest arriving and wine opening and so much laughing, joy joy joy; puff puff pass the giddiness reaching a new incredible level; salad making and wine drinking and music listening and MIF arrived and things really started kickin; showers of silverware hitting the table; deviled eggs and beers and more guests arriving and a little more fussing in the kitchen and then some RELAXING; lots of posing with STAN, mirror in the bathroom ladies and then the whole group; the giddiness amping up another notch, soultrain and millenium funk gettin our groove on; STRAWBERRY LETTER 23 bonding all over with MIF; new wave and dancing in the kitchen and huggin on J* and huggin on the host and lots of warm happy fun love vibes floating all over the apartment, along with a thick cloud of arenarockstyle smoke; MORE guests arriving and more wine and more beer and more food and then it is time to get the dinner goin; draggin the host in the kitchen finally to make the roadkill rolls; throwing together the green bean casserole and the sweet potato casserole and the potatoes and the stuffing (honestly, people, I have very vague memories of doing all this stuff!!); soup happens and rocks our world and salad with mango happens and rocks us again; then in a flurry it is ALL DONE and the host carves the juicy succulent falling off the bone turkey and we load up plates and we get our drinks and we sit and J* says her lovely speech about the love of friends and how great it is to have each other; GAVIN says grace and then we EAT EAT EAT, and we EAT EAT EAT some more, and there is lots of talking and laughing and SO MUCH HAPPINESS i think we will burst!; and then a little relaxing and then the incredible I can not believe it can possibly be this good pie, and then finally I force people to watch my movie; and there is lots of talking and laughing in the kitchen, and some people are doing things on the computer and some people are trying to take a nap and some of us are transfixed by the ROCK; and I scream and make people watch my favorite parts, and although i have started to feel really crappy with the cold I am still just loving every minute of the party; I make a wish on a chik-o-stix with the wild one and I get my wish(well, I get the long end of the stick---will I get my wish? remains to be seen); I wander into the kitchen to try to deal with the turkey and J* is pouring water on the wild one laying on the floor; lots of wild stuff is happening everywhere and people are bonding all over the place and friendships are being made solid or just begining and I am feeling GOOD GOOD GOOD that we have this amazing pool of love to draw from; and I pull all the turkey off the bone and put it in the little baggies and shove it all in the fridge and shove all the leftovers in the fridge and give the host a giant goodbye hug and promise to help tomorrow; and J* and I and some boys pile in and have such laughing conversations on the way home that I am SURE we are going to wreck; but we don't; and the moon is amazingly huge and bright and beautiful; and J* and I hug and say goodnight and life is SO NICE RIGHT NOW; and I get home and my apartment is messy but warm and I crawl in the bed and I sleep hard and don't even dream.

What have I forgotten? I am sure we will be reliving the day for days to come. This is what it is all about--even when the moments of sadness came, when we thought about family or friends who weren't there, there was something lovely and sweet just around the corner to turn the misty eyed sadness into a giggle or guffaw.

LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, WE ROCKED THANKSGIVING.

amen.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com