Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

August 12, 2003

Yesterday was apparently Christmas and no one told me.

Which is fine, because instead of me having to plan and buy gifts for all my friends and the family I barely know, I got them all to myself.

I got home from a long day at the bookstore to find TWO packages laying on the sidewalk below my mailbox and ONE package lovingly nestled in my doorjam by the UPS guy. (gotta love the BROWN!)

The two packages on the sidewalk contained foodie memoirs. MFK Fisher(mia culpa for leaving out the F in the last post) and Comfort me With Apples by the editrix of Gourmet.(I am officially too late and lazy to look up her actual name. I will tell you later)

The box in the doorjam held my influx of Helan products. A gorgeous bottle of eau de toilette, another bar of soap, and also a completely off-topic bar of TOMATO soap which smells so much like a tomato that I want to eat it. But I know that eating soap is a mistake. I might not ever unwrap it even because the tomato wrap is so pretty.

MFK Fisher is my official heroine. Last night I read A is for Alone, all about eating alone. I am a big fan of eating alone, and I have gone all the routes she mentions, from solo dinners of crackers and soup to solo gourmet feasts of steak and potato and salad and sides(often at midnight!) to solo trips to classy restaurants where I imagine that I am a very important business traveller. She just writes so eloquently and so snarkily. This is who I shall be when I grow up.

Recently at lunch I discussed with Herbie my possible future---after a couple more decades of cooking in veggie restaurants and running a successful catering business in Pittsburgh, I will finally retire to Taos, NM, where I will run an extremely hip bed and breakfast and churn out food writing.

In the meantime, I need to find a dust cover for my printer. These used to be readily available back in the days when printers and computers were all a uniform shape and size. Now that things are all aerodynamic and sexy, I haven't been able to find any. Any ideas?

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com