Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Saturday, Jul. 24, 2004

Today I had a vacation in Squirrel Hill. It started at 4pm, after I spent most of the day lying on the couch or putting things into my kitchen cabinets. Yes, the cabinets have been installed, which is fantastic, but I am a little pissed that I did not get a call to tell me that the workerpeople were going to be in my apartment on Friday. Because, I was specifically told by the landlord that I would get a warning call. It doesn't really matter at all, but it's a principle thing. Sometimes I get hung up on those.

Anyway, my Squirrel Hill vacation was centered around going to Penzey's to stock up on little plastic bottles of interesting spices. I dropped a little over $20 and got a lot of cool things. Then I ventured on to Ten Thousand Villages and got some Neem soap made by poor women in India. I tried to get some Frankincense incense made by poor women in India also, but it turns out that the particular incense I wanted was part of a set and the woman could not sell me only one package. Pity.

So I ventured down the street to the Casablanca Gallery, where my heart broke. Everything I want desperately but can not afford is there. Beautiful colored glass lamps, sari pillowcases, carved wood benches, glass teapots, mirrored throws, lapis and garnet earrings. And more. I bought $3.00 worth of incense and called it a day, because my heart was breaking. If I ever get a big pile of money that I don't have to immediately send off to credit card companies, I will head there and bring home a parcel of shiny things. Hooboy.

And then, the coffeemilktea. I ordered a large which was a mistake, because that stuff is way too sweet for me to finish a big one, but it just seemed like the thing to do. I want the Rose Cafe people to know that their coffeemilktea is appreciated.

Notice, please, that I did not go into the record store. Feel free to express your congratulations on my restraint in the guestbook.

Speaking of which, isn't it nice that I paid for my gold membership so the links show up again? I also spent a few hours containing the wild beast that was my archives, so if you are inclined to take a tour through the history of novasilver you can do it in easily digestible monthly chunks. This I do for you, gentle reader.

Last night I walked myself the half a block down the street to Blockbuster Video where I recently got a membership because it's half a block down the street. I chose the first season of In Living Color(every bit as hysterical as I remembered it, especially the Wrath of Farrakhan sketch) and what turned out to be a really really sweet movie, Keeping the Faith. It stars Ben Stiller, Jenna Elfman, and Ed Norton. I am a relatively recent convert to loving all three of them, so it was a nice treat. But the storyline, which involves the lifelong friendship of a priest and a rabbi who are trying to shake things up in their congregations, was fantastic. I was dissolved in tears at the end more for the success of their interfaith kareoke coffeebar than the happy ending to the lovestory(although that was also great) I remember seeing commercials for this when it came out and thinking I might like to see it, but of course I NEVER go to see movies in the theater and certainly I would never go to see an interfaith love comedy. So there you go. God bless Blockbuster for being close enough for me to walk myself over when I am home alone on an evening and want to watch a sweet romantic comedy.

Tonight, though, will be about THE ROCK. I can not wait for the ROCK, featuring Fang of the Panda and The OPD. At the old bar, with the old runnin'crew. A splendid time is guaranteed for all!

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com