Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2004

Hello, and happy Feminist Day to you!

Today is the birthday of both Kate Millett and Margaret Sanger. Drink a toast to the ladies, won't you? After all, they made it possible for us to be who we are today.

Today is also YAM DAY, at least at my house. Today I will be peeling, chopping, boiling, mashing, and forming in to patties some 18 or so yams. I lost count. It's no picnic, but I have good music to keep me company and plenty of laundry to keep me distracted. Laundry---the great distractor. I feel like I am constantly in a state of needing to do laundry, but as long as I have a cooking job and until I get a houseboy, that is to be expected.

Speaking of houseboys, my former adorable young houseboy wrote to me recently and told me that he is applying to This program in the spring. I am not sure if I am more proud or jealous. Proud, I guess, but I am certainly jealous as well. I just hope that I will be able to live vicariously through him.

So last night's obsessive search for Roxie on the net led to the discovery of this:Ryan Roxie fan fiction! It's a pretty good story, lots of action and adventure in amongst the sweet tender loveydovey stuff. I really love the fact that in all the fan fiction I'v ever read, the girls make these macho rockstars and actors into weepy, uber-emotional doe eyed lovepuppies. I swear to God, I need to go to grad school JUST so I can write a thesis on fan fiction. The men don't know what the little girls understand, indeed.

I closed out the night watching Velvet Goldmine again, or at least parts of it, again. I don't know that I have EVER watched that film all the way through in one sitting. It's very beautiful in places, though, and mostly I watch it for the visual stimulation. I'm still not sure what I think of the story. I especially love the band at the Death of Glitter concert that sings "20th Century Boy".

Speaking of, it's getting to be Marc's birthday season...wonder what I can do to celebrate this year?

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com