Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-10-02

OK, ready for more highfallootin' moral dillema?

Yeah, I thought you were.

Read here the speech of Ron Paul. I just read it and I thought--"wow! this guy is so right on!" Despite being an Obie hippie liberal, I have always favored a non-interventionist foreign policy. I like what he says about turning airline safety over to private agencies. I like the way he uses the pirate analogy. I really like what he alludes to about giving the president the option of hiring Boba Fett to hunt down Osama bin Laden. I think he makes some really good points about the economic component of war, and how it really is NOT so hard to see why the people in the Middle East hate America. Basically, I think this speech totally rocks.

So I decided to look up Ron Paul to see if I could move to wherever it is he is from and vote for him.

And then I found this.

Now, I try not to fall into the single issue voter trap. But I have to say that no matter how rockin a GUY is, I could not possibly vote for, live with, or really tolerate him if he was this fundamentally pro-life.

Now, at this point we enter the extremely messy world of nova's moral high ground. Personally, I am at heart a non interventionist in this regard as well and if I should suddenly find myself pregnant, although I would insist on getting the shrine and the blue dress and the worship due a miracle from everyone far and wide, I doubt that I would go in for abortion, no matter how inconvenient a pregnancy might seem.

However, as in my muddled rant on transgenderism, I would never presume to understand someone else's reasons or feelings about carrying a child and therefore I remain staunchly PROCHOICE. Pro-choice is not pro abortion(although, while we are talking about moral high grounds, I certainly believe there are lots of people who should not be breeding. Unfortunately, they don't tend to be the people seeking the abortions...) but I think as long as men are allowed to masturbate without legal consequence women ought to be allowed to terminate a pregnancy that is not right for them, for whatever reason. Similarly, although I personally feel weird about the whole hormone treatment and surgical sex change thing, I will staunchly support the rights of anyone who feels it is the thing they need to do.

I guess the bottom line is that you can never really find the politician of your dreams. I really thought I had come close, though.

Sigh.

And to think, when I sat down to write this evening I was going to talk about shopping and having dinner in an old diner/bar in downtown Pittsburgh.

Perspective, once again, is a magical thing.

i have held the hand of the devil.....

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com